The Single Girls Guide to Enjoying Valentine’s Day Solo, part 1

I woke up yesterday morning slightly tired from Saturday’s skiing adventures and more than a little sick with a worsening chest cold.  With those two factors in mind I decided to do something I hadn’t done in far too long: sleep in and do nothing all day.  This sparked a revelation:

Today is Sunday, tomorrow is Valentine’s Day so that mean’s couples all over the world are going to be celebrating how much they love each other today and tomorrow so why don’t I do the same for myself?

Today’s post will feature part 1 and part 2: The Single Girls guide to enjoying Valentine’s Day Solo.

Sunday was the ultimate lazy day for me.  I lounged and slept for most of the day in my super comfy bed with my super comfy pillows not worrying about anyone hogging the blankets or really bad morning breath. Face it, it happens.

Dear god I enjoyed that!

By the time I decided to join the living, I was feeling 100 times better and was 100 times hungrier than normal.  I took a long hot shower, put on zero make up and went out to the grocery store on the hunt for the perfect Valentine’s Day meal for 1.

Note, you could easily make this for two, and the quantities I list actually are for two, I just had the 2nd portion for lunch today.

I started things off with a delicious salad featuring spinach, blood oranges, red onions and almonds.

To make really pretty orange slices, cut off both ends of your orange so you have a flat surface to work with.  Then with a sharp knife, follow the contours of the orange and remove the peel and pith so you have something the looks like this:

Now, slice in half and cut into thin slices of pure citrusy prettiness.

Add in your onions along with a tablespoon of white wine vinegar and allow mixture to marinate for a few minutes.

Heap the mixture onto plates of fresh baby spinach and top with slivered almonds.  This is sure-fire way to get your taste-buds going.

Next up, I needed a main course.  I decided spaghettini was in order because nothing is more decadent to me than a nice flavourful pasta.  Rather than plain old sauce I kicked things up a notch with a Serrano chile, smoked paprika and red pepper flakes for my own version of an arrabiata sauce:

The makings for a killer sauce

Chop up your shallot, garlic and chile (be mindful to wash your hands after handling) and sauté with 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat.

Stir for about 1 minute until nice and fragrant then go ahead and add in your tomatoes.  I used crushed tomatoes but you could use Diced if you prefer.  Add in a dash of red wine vinegar, your paprika, red pepper flakes, and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a simmer, lower heat, cover, and let the flavours marinate while your pasta cooks.

Once your pasta cooked to al-dente add in your sauce and serve up with some fresh bread.  I used this fabulous Tuscan Loaf:

You can serve as is like I did, or top with some freshly shaved parmesan.

Now what meal is complete without dessert? I opted for the simple, mainly because a) I’m sick and not in the mood to bake and b) there is nothing better than a square (or 4) of dark chocolate.

So there you have it, the perfect balance of sweet and spicy for your fabulous single girls Valentine’s Day meal.  If you have a Single Girlfriend why not invite her to join you? After all, there’s nothing like indulging with the right-minded girlfriend.

Recipes:

Blood Orange and Red Onion Spinach Salada

1 Blood orange, peeled, halved and thinly sliced

¼ red onion thinly sliced

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 tbsp slivered almonds

2 cups baby spinach

Combine orange slices,  onions and vinegar, toss and let marinate for 5 minutes. Pour mixture onto beds of spinach, top with almonds.

Arrabiata-inspired Sweet and Spicy Spaghettini

1 can Crushed tomatoes

1 tbsp olive oil

1 large shallot, finely diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 serrano chile, seeded and minced

1 tsp red wine vinegar

½ tsp smoked paprika

1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper to taste

2 handfuls of spagettini pasta

Heat olive oil over medium heat, sauté shallot, garlic and chile for 1 minute until fragrant.  Add in your tomatoes, red wine vinegar, paprika, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper.  Bring to a simmer, reduce heat, cover and let marinate.

Bring pot of salted water to boil, add in pasta, cook until al dente, drain and toss with sauce.  Serve with bread.

I hope you’re enjoying your Valentine’s Day and check back later tonight for part 2!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Single Girls Guide to Enjoying Valentine’s Day Solo, part 1

  1. Tess says:

    Yummm! Pasta, bread, and chocolate. Is there anything better? I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

