The case of the chickpea addict


It’s no secret that hummus and I have a major love affair going on.

My first introduction to this delightful dip/spread/main course was back in my early adolescence.  There was this international/fusion place near my parents’ house called The Rude Native and they had amazing hummus.  Served on a warm plate loaded with soft and chewy pita breads, their hummus was piled high topped with light and tasty olive oil.  I don’t think any other dish sits so clearly in my mind, I can practically taste it as I type this.
Yes, I have issues, no need to remind me.

Sadly, The Rude Native is no longer the same, or even in the same location.  As many restaurants do, The Rude Native changed management, changed locations, and somewhere in the kafuffle the hummus was taken off the menu.  Devastating, I know.

But, I am no longer that bright-eyed naïve adolescent. Oh no! I have since learned how to make my own hummus ready to enjoy in a myriad of ways.

This past Sunday was the ever infamous Super Bowl Sunday and while I have zero interest in Football, besides seeing whose butt is the cutest, I have to admit I love the day just for the food. My friend Tania had us over for one of her glutton-fests and I naturally contributed in the way of my Mexican-layered dip:


and this fabulous roasted garlic hummus.

Please note, before going any further, that I went for a 4 mile run prior to the party in anticipation of the food.  Actually, it was in anticipation for my upcoming half marathon, but you get the picture.

Roasted Garlic Hummus

1 c. chickpeas drained and rinsed well

1/3 c. tahini

1 lemon, juiced

1 tsp sea salt

1 head of garlic

¼ c. olive oil, divided

Preheat oven to 400

1)      Roast your garlic: slice off the top of your garlic bulb, just enough that all the bulbs are exposed and peel off the excess papery skins.  Place the bulb on a sheet of tinfoil and drizzle with 1 tbsp of olive oil.  Wrap up the bulb in a little package and roast for 30-35 minutes or until soft and golden like so:

2)      Toss chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, salt, garlic and remaining olive oil into a blender, blend until smooth.

Tip: To give your hummus that really nice creamy texture without going overboard on the olive oil: once you’ve rinsed and drained your chickpeas toss them back in the can and fill up with water, then toss water and peas into the blender. This way, you’ll get a bit more liquid to play with.

Well there’s another hummus dish for you to check out. I’m heading up to the cottage for some skiing action with some friends, but be sure to check-in Sunday for a special Valentine’s Day treat!

Have a fabulous weekend!

Jess xo

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The case of the chickpea addict

  1. Tess says:

    Ok, I know this post is about the hummus, but can I just take a second to comment on how AMAZING your three-layered dip is? Seriously, it’s a thing of beauty.

    Good tip about using water instead of olive oil!

  2. i still have some of my hummus i just made and i am trying my best to portion control it to make it last longer. basically i should just pick up more chickpeas so that i can make it more often. i also love to eat chickpeas in burgers and add them to stirfries and salads. another thing i like to make is chickpea crackers by blending the beans and adding them with rice flour and some other things/spices..then baking them in the oven! ❤

    xoxo

  3. Micol says:

    Hi Jess!

    This hummus looks so good! Have you considered entering it into the new Food Network Show, Recipe to Riches? We’re holding a casting call in Montreal on Saturday, February 19 at the Hyatt Regency!

    More details on our website at: http://recipetoriches.ca.

    Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

