A weekend of wine, girlfriends, and a really good vegetarian restaurant!

That statement pretty much sums it up.  This past weekend was crazy, delicious, and hilarious.  I don’t think I’ve had this little sleep since my university days.  But in the end, it was totally worth it.

It all began last Thursday when my friend Sam came in from Halifax for a long weekend visit which was super exciting as I haven’t seen Sam in about 3 years!

Me and Sam circa 2007

Oh and Tess decided to come up from Ottawa to join in the fun as well.

Proving to be an epic weekend in the making, no detail could be overlooked and no one could be left out.  That’s why Liz and I had a conference call to create a schedule of events where everyone could pick and choose when they’d like to participate. We’re not at all type A people…

Anyway, one of my favorite items on the itinerary was Saturday’s lunch.

Liz and I decided that we’d take everyone to this amazing vegetarian restaurant in the McGill Ghetto (student section) of downtown Montreal called Lola Rosa.  My friends, this is vegetarian comfort food at  its finest.  I’ve been three times now and have ordered a different entrée each time and not once, have I been disappointed.

source

The first go-around I had their Veggie Burger which was probably the most unique I’ve ever tasted.  They used egg as their binder and so it had the texture of an omelet meets burger with plenty of veggies crammed in there, definitely worth trying out.  My only complaint was they served the burger with ketchup- I’m a mustard girl all the way, but I will concede the ketchup paired nicely with it.

For my next visit I had their Curry which was creamy, slightly spicy and oh-so perfect for a January evening in Quebec.  This past Saturday I debated between the Black Bean burrito and Hemp Burger and when the kind waiter/owner asked how hungry I was (with “sort of” being my reply) he promptly recommended the burger.  So I guess the burrito is for those “I feel like I haven’t eaten in days” moods.   That, or he underestimated my appetite- despite my size, I can pack it away.  Just ask Tess.

Regardless, when my burger arrived all burrito-centric thoughts quickly evaporated from my mind; I knew I had hit the jackpot.  Sitting prettily upon a crusty bun was a substantial looking patty topped with cheese, bbq sauce and sautéed mushrooms.  Oh.my.god. this was good! It was filling and flavorful with a bit of a spicy kick to it!

source

Susan, I think this has become my #1 veggie burger, rivaling that of the Queen Mother Café’s…

QM Burger, you met your match...

Anyway, once I had licked my plate clean and wiped the drool from my mouth we all, naturally, ordered dessert.  On a previous visit Liz and I had shared their banana-chocolate tart which was light and chocolate-y with the flavours complimenting each other perfectly.  This time around, I opted for their Ginger-Basil crème brulée.  Yes, you read that correctly, and yes, you should be jealous.

Now, I am not the biggest dessert fan, I like it on occasion, but I never really “crave” sweet foods, I’m a total savoury girl.  But, desserts like this could convert me.

It was sweet, refreshing, and tantalizingly savoury all in one go.

Places like this only reaffirm my lifestyle as a vegetarian.  Lola Rosa shows you what it’s like to eat wholesome, flavorful (meatless) food that warms you up toes to nose.  It’s the perfect place to go and unwind after a busy day, or spend a giggly afternoon with some girlfriends all the while enjoying really good food in a relaxing atmosphere at a reasonable price.  Seriously, what more could you ask for?

Lola Rosa
545 rue Milton, Montreal, QC

Find them on Facebook!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A weekend of wine, girlfriends, and a really good vegetarian restaurant!

  1. Tess says:

    Next time I hope to be able to order something too! lol

Leave a Reply

