New Year, New Goals

It’s Sunday, January 2, 2011.  As I sit here at Starbucks, aka my second home, sipping on my latte, I feel incredibly happy and lucky to be where I’m at with my life.  I’m 25 and living in the amazing city of Montreal.  I have wonderful friends and family, an incredible job that allows me to work with inspiring individuals on a daily basis, and of course my lovely blog. I’m 25 with so much going for me and now with the arrival of a new year I feel like I have the opportunity to really embrace it.

Like many people, I’ve made resolutions over the years where I have the best intentions and then find they just sort of fall by the wayside.  I think the only resolution I actually kept was when I quit smoking and that took place in June of 2008… So this time around, in an effort to make my resolutions stick I’m putting them out on the internet where you can all keep me accountable.  This should make for an interesting year.

I’m a girl with many passions and so it’s no surprise that my resolutions are equally diverse. But that only makes it more fun, right?

So here goes:

1)      Fitness: I plan to really step it up in the running and exercise department this year.  2010 was probably my fittest year since I played varsity sports in high school, so I want not only continue that trend but up the ante a bit.  As of today, I’m planning on running 3 races at the half-marathon distance this year.  I’d also like to get back into Bikram Yoga where, ideally, I’d go twice a week.

2)      Diet: No, I’m not “going on a diet” that would be completely absurd.  I meant my actual diet.  Lately, I’ve been hitting up the dairy and the pasta like it’s my job and I know I can do better to get a more balanced diet to support my fitness goals.  Before the Fall I was eating about 80-90% vegan and I found that was when I felt my best so I’d like to return to that ratio.

3)      Blog: I’ve been neglecting my personal online space a bit too much lately.  This is a place that gives me so much joy and entertainment that I really want to continue putting in the proper effort it deserves.   I’m going to make the effort to blog 4 times a week- with relevant, delicious content of course! (Does this count as 1 out of the 4??)

4)      Smile: I take life way too seriously sometimes. This time next year, I’d love to be once again sitting at Starbucks smiling and laughing as I reflect on the amazing times I will have had with friends and family.

So there you have it, my new year’s resolutions.  I’ve gone and pressed publish and put it all out for you to see, now let’s see if I hold up my end of the bargain, shall we?

Happy New Year to you all. Let’s hope 2011 is full laughter and love.

-Jess

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Year, New Goals

  1. Tess says:

    Awesome resolutions Jess! I think if you keep going the way you have been, then by this time next year you’ll be EVEN HAPPIER than you are now 😀 Let me know which races you’ll be running. I want to actually do it with you this year haha.

    I heard an interesting take on resolutions the other day. A woman was saying that in the past she’s resolved to change something about who she is. So this year, she decided to just BE who she is. I thought that was a great concept, and figure it would probably be harder than one would think. So that’s my resolution this year – to be true to myself. I want to only do things that bring me joy; I want to reconnect with my music and religion; I want to be honest with myself even when the truth hurts; I want to be genuine in my friendships/relationships; no more negative or self-depreciating words directed at my body; and work at a job that brings me fulfillment…. not just a paycheck.

Leave a Reply

