Better Than Sex Pasta

Yes, you read that correctly.

Hello again! I’m sorry it’s been a while since my last post (again).   I’ve been having too much fun lately which has cut into my blogging time. But, I promise you it has been put to good use including creating many a delicious recipe:

Mac n Cheese using Maman Starkey's Cheese Sauce

Ravioli topped with sautéed mushrooms and heirloom tomatoes

Not to mention training, working, and partying… ‘tis the season right?

Chris (roomie) and I hosted an awesome Christmas Cocktail last week

On top of all that I also dragged myself to the dreaded malls of downtown Montreal today to finish up my Christmas shopping.

I’m not at all a major procrastinator.

This is where the origins of tonight’s dinner began.  I stopped in at Chapters for one Christmas gift and I of course stopped by the cook book section.  Big mistake.

Foodie Rule #38795408: Just like you shouldn’t grocery shop when hungry, I would also recommend against visiting the cook book section when hungry.  On top of the Christmas gift, I walked away the proud owner of a brand new cook book to add to my *ahem* growing collection.

Let me introduce you to “Bite Me”.

If you’re thinking I purchased this gem based on the title, you would be 100% right.

Anyway, I haven’t had too much time to go through the whole thing yet, but there are some true gems in there that will prove promising for adding to my culinary repertoire.  It was also the inspiration for tonight’s pasta.

Whilst perusing the pages of Bite Me, I came across a dish titled Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Pasta.  As IF I could pass on the opportunity to try this out.  At that point I dropped everything, including the book and booked it (heh heh) to the grocery store to get the rest of the ingredients which included white wine- score!

I got as far as caramelizing the onions before I totally changed course to create a whole new recipe (surprise surprise).  But I do owe the inspiration for this dish to the amazingly sarcastic ladies of Bite Me.

Better Than Sex Pasta

Yes, that’s what I’m calling it.  Deal with it.

You will need:

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Butter (I used Earth Balance as it’s what I had on hand

2 white onions thinly sliced

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

¼ c. balsamic vinegar

1 box of penne pasta (I used whole wheat)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 large clove of garlic, minced

1 shallot, roughly chopped

1 c. dry white wine

¾ c. cooking cream

¼ c. slivered almonds

1 granny smith apple thinly sliced

1/3 c. freshly grated parmesan cheese

125 g. goat cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

Heat your olive oil and butter over medium heat and add in onion, sugar and salt.  Sauté them for a good 15-20 minutes until they turn that gorgeous brown colour we all know and love.

Now go ahead and add in your balsamic vinegar and let all the liquid absorb.  About 3 minutes.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Oh...

Yes!

Meanwhile cook your penne pasta until al dente, drain and set aside.

In the same skillet you used for your onions, heat olive oil over medium heat and add in your garlic and shallot.  Stir around for 30 seconds until fragrant, then up the heat to medium-high and pour in the wine and make sure to pour yourself a glass too.

Let the liquid reduce and then go ahead and add in your cream.

Bring to a boil then add in your almonds and onions, taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.  Now go ahead and dump in the pasta, apples, and parmesan cheese and mix it all up and season with salt and peper

Serve with freshly crumbled goat cheese and prepare yourself for a mind-blowing culinary experience.

I’m sure some of you are wondering where the hell I came up with the idea to throw in a granny smith apple, right? Well, for my birthday we all went out Mozza, this fabulous bring your own wine Italian restaurant located in the gay village of Montreal.  If ever you happen to be in the Montreal area- go! They served me up the most exquisite dish of fettuccine topped with brie and granny smith apples.  It’s been over a month and I still cannot get this dish out of my head, clearly.

Another fun fact:  my wine bottle had a fabulous pink label with matching pink cork.  It went perfectly with our Christmas Tree!

So there you have it, better than sex pasta.  If you need to impress anyone this holiday season, give this recipe a shot.

Have you had any orgasmic foodie experiences lately? Please do share!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Better Than Sex Pasta

  1. Tess says:

    Hardy har har (“booked it” lol).

    Looks as yummy as you described! Totally gonna have to rip this off next time I cook pasta!

Leave a Reply

