Chapter 1

I’m back!

To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I was going to come back but I’m glad I did.  I’ve missed this virtual world of food and maybe you’ve missed me too?

A lot has changed since I last signed off right before Canadian Thanksgiving.  I mean, a lot!

No, I’m still a vegetarian.

I’m not going to get into the minute details of what exactly has changed, but over the next few weeks you’ll probably start to figure it out. What I will tell you is that these changes have made me happy and put me in a good place in my life.  I’m excited to see where it all takes me.

But for now, let’s just get back to what you’re actually here for: Food!

My love for food has definitely not changed, and I hope it won’t. Ever.

As my “welcome back” dinner I’ve decided to make a long-time favorite of mine: mushroom risotto.

Mushroom Risotto is probably one of those dishes that would be included with my last meal accompanied by a ton of red wine, cheese, and bread.  Good times.

I know some people have a hard time with Risotto dishes, I’ve definitely got a few “fails” on my score card, but they’re just too irresistible for me to stay away for too long. Plus they pretty much scream “comfort food” with its creamy texture and rich taste.  To me, risotto is pure foodie love.

So let’s get on with it, shall we?

Recipe for success:

1 L Veggie Stock

2 c. sliced mushrooms (I used a mix of crimini and mini bella’s)

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 shallot, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 c. Arborio Rice

1/3 c. white wine

½ lemon, juiced

Freshly grated parmesan cheese

Directions:

Pour your stock into a heavy sauce pan, bring to an almost simmer and then lower heat to medium-low to keep piping hot.

Meanwhile, heat your olive oil in a large sauté pan, add in onion and stir until softened ~ 2 minutes.

Add in your garlic and stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Now you can go ahead and dump in the ‘shrooms and sauté them until all the liquid has been absorbed.  It should look a little like this:

Once your mushrooms have been cooked, add in the rice and give it a good stir to make sure all excess liquid has been absorbed.

Add in your wine and stir until liquid is completely absorbed.

Stirring is probably the most important thing to remember when making risotto, you gotta stir. Constantly.

Once the rice has soaked up the vino, go ahead and start adding in your stock.  Add it in one ladle-full at a time and then stir to make sure it gets completely absorbed.  My apologies to your arm muscles.

Once all the stock has been absorbed and your risotto has a beautiful creamy texture (the rice will still have a slight bite to it), go ahead and grate some parmesan cheese over top, sprinkle in the lemon juice, season with some salt and pepper and enjoy!

In other news, the ankle is 100% healed! I’ve gotten back into running and have signed up for my first Half Marathon, super excited!

Can’t promise I’ll be posting every night, but will definitely be more than once every 2 months! Stay tuned for family Christmas cookie recipes to start appearing.

Bon soir mes amis!

Have you ever made risotto? Was it a pass or fail?

 

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter 1

  1. Tess says:

    YAY! Happy to have you back Jess, and great first recipe 🙂 I’m glad I actually get to try what you make now! haha

  2. I’m excited to hear what things have changed in your life!! Keep the posts coming!

  3. Tess says:

    Ok, so there are 3 new recipes that I’ve tried this week and MUST share them with you.

    1) Gluten-free cookies. Made with almond butter, sucanat, egg, baking soda and salt, and carob chips. Turned out extremely well (wouldn’t have guessed there wasn’t any flour/oats in them!) although the carob turned hard when it cooled rather than staying creamy like regular chocolate.

    2) Banana and avocado ice cream. I think I told you about this idea before? 2 banans, 1/4 avocado (both frozen) and some honey all blended ’til smooth. Topped with walnut. Was pretty good, though I think now that agave nectar might be even better than honey.

    3) Breakfast risotto. Yes, I was inspired by this risotto post 😛 Cooked as usual but added raisins, coconut, vanilla extract and dried apricots at the end. Topped with toasted almonds, banana and soy milk. DE-LI-CIOSO!!

    Had to share 😀

Leave a Reply

