Thursday, October 7th…

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 7th????

I know this has become a repetitive statement, but where has the time gone? The summer was gone with a blink of an eye and the leaves have long changed and are nearly all off the trees.  Part of me is secretly very excited for the snow and the ski season to start, to bust out all my sweaters, hats and scarves.

 

Wifey and I are badass skiers

 

Yep, I am a true Canadian. Except I don’t play hockey 😉

But before the snow starts flying, we are fast approaching my all time favorite holiday- Thanksgiving! Ever since I was a little girl have I loved Thanksgiving, though that could also be due to the fact that my birthday always falls around that time as well!

Anyway, this weekend promises to be an amazing one up at Chalet Starkey.  Both my brothers and Tess and her boyfriend will be joining us.  So excited!

What about CK? Well CK being the lucky boy that he is, is off in Europe until Monday.  Oh well, more food for us! (Kidding, honey, I miss you like crazy!)

Anyway, since I’m hangin’ out sans CK this week, I decided to hang out in my kitchen this evening.

Last weekend CK’s Mom sent us packing with a bottle of homemade oven dried tomatoes!!

I’ve been mulling all week over what to make with these beauties and today the idea just hit me over the head- stuffed portobello mushrooms!

These were some of the best-tasting stuffed mushrooms I have made in a long time and perfect for a blustery fall day!

Wild Rice and Sundried Tomato Stuffed Mushrooms

You will need:

1/3 c. wild rice

2/3 c. Veggie Stock

5 sundried tomatoes chopped

1 shallot finely chopped

1 tbsp chopped kalamata olives

1 tbsp chopped fresh basil

2 large portobello mushrooms, slightly hollowed

1-2 oz goat cheese

Directions:

Combine rice and stock in a small sauce pan, bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat until rice absorbed.

Meanwhile, combine shallots, tomatoes, olives and basil into a small bowl, stir to combine, set aside.

Next, you’ll want to hollow out your mushrooms.  The easiest way to do this is by using a small spoon to slightly scoop out the gills and a bit of the flesh.

Preheat oven to 375

Mix rice and tomato mixture together and pour into your shrooms.  Top with goats cheese and pop them onto a lightly greased baking sheet and bake until cheese turns golden on top.

I decided to serve it up on top of a salad with some balsamic vinaigrette.

Totally awesome! Definitely recommend you try this one out!

Alright, time to finish up my laundry and start packing for the weekend!

What are your Thanksgiving plans? (well, if you’re in Canada)

If you aren’t celebrating Thanksgiving this weekend, do you have any exciting plans?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday, October 7th…

  1. Yum!!!

    I’m not in Canada – I have a while to go for Thanksgiving!

  2. Tess says:

    Yumm! Those mushrooms look great! I think everyone now knows what I’ll be doing for Thanksgiving 😉 haha Can’t wait!

  3. Kelsey says:

    i didnt really celebrate thanksgiving.. not that i usually do, but its weird since we usually have turkey or something.. but it felt like any other day- kind of makes me sad. lol ❤

Leave a Reply

