Heart-Warming Butternut Squash Soup

It’s cold, raining and worst of all, damp.  I know the damp kind of goes without saying due to the rain, but it is seriously damp here, so I felt it deserved a shout-out.

Being a Canadian, specifically a Canadian living in Montreal, I’ve learned to withstand the cold (it’s all in the layers).  However as soon as the dampness encroaches, I become the world’s largest wimp.  I bundle myself up in flannel, slippers, and hoodies.  You’d think I was a southerner exploring the north for the first time.

So, when I left the office (and cranked the heat in my car) I booted over to the grocery store to pick up some last minute necessities for tonight’s warm-Jess-up dinner.

Meet the star ingredient:

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that Butternut Squash soup is nothing new, but it definitely holds a special place in my heart.  Not to mention it is a totally soothing, warming dish.

Roasted Garlic Butternut Squash Soup with sage and caramelized onions

You will need:

1 Medium Butternut Squash, peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks

1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks

Salt and pepper to taste

1 bulb of garlic

4 Tbsp olive oil separated

1 onion, thinly sliced

1 tsp brown sugar

1 Tbsp chopped fresh sage

900mL vegetable stock

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Slice the top of your garlic bulb and rub with 1 tbsp olive oil, wrap in tin foil, insert into oven and roast for 45 minutes to an hour or until nice and golden like so:

While the garlic is roasting, prep your squash and potato, toss with 2 Tbsp olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Place onto cookie sheet and roast for 30-40 minutes until golden and cooked through.

While your squash and garlic are roasting, heat 1 Tbsp of olive oil in a sauté pan and add in your onions and sauté over medium-low heat until caramelized. At the end just before they’re ready, add in your brown sugar and sage and let the onions turn a nice golden colour.

Now comes the fun part, combine your squash, garlic, onions (reserve 2-3 Tbsp) and vegetable stock into a blender (I had divide this into three batches) and blend until smooth.

Pour into a large sauce pan and heat through.  Top with remaining onion and sage mixture.

This is one of my favorite recipes in a long time.  It warmed me right up and the onions and garlic added a really nice flavour to the squash and potato.

Question: how do you fend off the dampness?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heart-Warming Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Tess says:

    Hey, have you ever tried adding curry to your squash soup? Totally delicious.

    I fend off the dampness by working out. You don’t feel so bad about being wet when you’re sweaty, and you definitely warm up after a good workout! Though, directly following that I’ll take a hot shower and put on some good socks (socks are the KEY!!!)

  2. theveggie says:

    looks and sounds good. do you have any ideas for cold soups? we’re having a crazy heat wave here on the west coast! I was thinking of trying a watermelon and tomato gazpacho. Have you ever had that? Any good?

    • First, I’m extremely jealous that you’re experiencing a heatwave. Second, to be honest, I’m not much of an expert on chilled soups. Since I’m eating cold weather foods, like hot soups, 70% of the year I go into full summer mode when the weather gets warm and nix the soups, hot or cold.
      But, the tomato/watermelon combo sounds fantastic! you’ll have to tell me how it turns out. Some fresh herbs like mint or basil would add some nice flavor I imagine.

Leave a Reply

