Put the Bottle Down Pomodoro

Buongiorno!

So, I know I promised a more fall specific recipe today but I just didn’t have the time to bring the recipe I had in mind to fruition.

However, despite that mishap, I had a pretty awesome day that involved two of my favorite activities: Bikram and shopping!

I went to the 10am Bikram class and had an awesome session; it really set the tone to the rest of my day.  When I got back CK asked if we could go shopping.

Yes, you read that correctly.  He needed shoes and asked if we could go shopping.

I really do love this man.

Anyway, we went shopping, and no, I did not buy another purse. I did however get a completely unnecessary pair of jeans and an adorable pair of gray kitten heals.  Ahh shopping, you are detrimental to my bank account.

When we got home, it was 5:00pm and we were both starved and exhausted.  Fall recipe will have to wait and move aside for quick and easy Italian. Let me introduce you to:

Pasta Pomodoro

This is by no means a revolutionary recipe, but it’s deliciously simple and will take you a total of 30 minutes.

You will need:

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 cloves of minced garlic

¼ tsp sea salt

¼ tsp pepper

1/8 tsp red pepper

½ tsp sugar

1 19 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 6 oz can of plain spaghetti sauce

Fresh basil leaves

Pasta of your choice

Directions:

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil, add in pasta and cook until al dente, set aside

Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat

Add in garlic and sauté gently, being careful not to burn it

Add in your tomatoes and sauce

Season with salt and peppers, taste and adjust seasonings

Let it simmer 15-20 minutes, then add in your basil, serve over pasta

Top with extra basil if desired

Now, this is really a basic sauce and can easily be adjusted according to your tastes by adding in your favorite herbs and spices.

CK and I devoured this in about 2 minutes flat and plate licking may or may not have been involved.  This is a perfect week day meal, or, a lazy Sunday dinner.  Nice red wine comes highly recommended as well.

Question:  What’s your favorite 30-minute meal?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Put the Bottle Down Pomodoro

  1. Yum!! This looks delicious. I have to say most of my recipes take around 30 minutes to make. I am all about simple, quick and easy recipes!

  2. Tess says:

    This is pretty darn fall-appropriate I think 😉

    Hmm, favourite quick meal would have to be salad. I’ll pop my salmon/chicken/tofu/whatever in the oven, and while it bakes I chop my veggies. By the time the protein is ready, the salad is done and I eat it while the meat is still warm.

Leave a Reply

