Yo Quiero Taco Bell

Well, actually, no.  Taco Bell makes me gag- literally.  Ever since a food-poisoning incident at age 12, I’ve stayed firmly away.

But, I was craving Mexican tonight, and more specifically, tacos.  CK loves tacos. To him, they are practically a food group all their own. So he is always especially happy whenever I tell him we’re having tacos for dinner.

In case you were wondering, no I don’t make ground beef for him and a veggie version for me.  CK, bless him, is perfectly content to eat whatever I’m eating.  Oh yeah, I’m a lucky veggie!

Now, that being said, I always like to switch it up in the taco department- sometimes I’ll do bean medley’s, chickpea tacos, throw in some zucchini or corn, but tonight I decided to kick it up old school with some veggie ground round.

In the past I’ve only used the plain ground round and then added my own seasonings, but when I was in the grocery store I happened to notice they had a Mexican blend and figured it was worth trying out.  It’s not like I couldn’t add in more spices if I needed to.

Source

But because I can’t leave anything alone, I initially added in some corn and then a bit of salsa.  Upon tasting, no further seasoning was required- bonus!

Our typical toppings usually include:

Lettuce

Tomato

Avocado (for me, not CK)

Cheddar cheese

Sour cream (a must for CK)

Salsa

Sometimes we have soft shells, other times it’s hard.  Today it was hard.  Now as I am quite possibly the world’s clumsiest and messiest eater, whenever we have hard shells, I usually go against convention and will create a taco salad

Or, a personal favorite, taco pizza

As you can see, tonight I did a bit of both.  I recommend the “pizza” by splitting the shell in half- makes it so much easier to pile on the toppings without having it falling apart too much.

Well, that’s all for me folks, I’m off to watch an episode of Glee (online, I don’t have cable) and head to bed!

Adios Amigos!

Question: What are your favorite taco toppings?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yo Quiero Taco Bell

  1. mmm tons of veggies! and avocado! I love me some mexican food!

  2. Tess says:

    I totally do the taco salad too. Sometimes I’ll make one into an actual “taco”, all stacked pretty in the shell, but even it generally turns into a salad by the end lol. My must-have toppings are sour cream (makes all the difference), lettuce, and beef seasoning.

Leave a Reply

