Mushroom beets Risotto, Goats cheese wins!

Hello Hello!

Last night you most likely noticed no new post from me and this is due to 2 reasons:

1)      I didn’t have a new recipe or a topic of interest worth discussing, and

2)      I came home from a BRU-TAL Bikram class and had only the energy to shower (kind of a necessity) and then bed.  My dinner was a smoothie and toast- go me!

One of the things I strive not to do on this blog is food journal.  My choice in this matter is mainly due the fact that I find my daily food choices to be boring and repetitive.  I mean seriously, do you guys really want to know that I had toast with peanut butter and banana for breakfast?
I didn’t think so either.

Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely nothing against food journaling, some of my favorite blogs do this extremely well (and make it very interesting); I just don’t have the inclination or the energy for it.

Obviously, if you’ve read my About Me page this will have you slightly confused as I clearly state I began my blog journey by documenting my training and eating for a race, but my goal is to have that page revitalized by the end of the weekend. Let’s see if that happens 😉

In any case, what I really like about having this blog is that it allows me to share fun and delicious veggie-friendly recipes that I hope you’ll also try out and enjoy.

So why don’t we get to that, shall we?

This recipe was inspired from a post by English Chef/Blogger/Food Writer James Ramsden who did a gorgeous beet risotto dish that I absolutely had to try out, veggie-style (he uses chicken stock).

Beet Mushroom Risotto with Goats Cheese

You will need:

1 shallot finely chopped

1-2 cloves of garlic minced

2 tbsp olive oil, separated

3-4 porcini or “porteeni” (honestly, that’s what the package said!) mushrooms sliced

1 large beet, peeled and grated

I roasted the other one for future use

¼ c. red wine

1 L vegetable stock

1 c. Arborio rice

Fresh basil

1-2 oz. goats cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat the veggie stock in a sauce pan and keep hot

Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a medium sauté pan

Add in your ‘shrooms and cook them until softened and liquid is forming (3-5 minutes) set aside

In a large sauce pan heat your 1 Tbsp olive oil

Add in your shallot and garlic, sauté until softened and fragrant. Just don’t burn the garlic- that would really suck!

Next, add in your rice and let it absorb the oil and flavours of the shallot and garlic, approx 1 minute, then go ahead and pour in the vino.

Once the rice has absorbed the wine start adding in your grated beets and your stock by the ladle-full – add in your stock one ladle at a time, stir until completely absorbed then add in some more.

Keep going until your rice is all nice and creamy- it will still have a bit of a bite to it.

Now add in your mushrooms, and season with salt and pepper.

Serve onto a dish and top with some fresh basil and goat cheese.

Wipe drool from mouth and enjoy!

Honestly, this dish was amazing! You have GOT to try it!

I would recommend serving it with an apple, walnut and cranberry salad 😉

However, I have got to say, dessert nearly stole the show for me tonight.

No, I didn’t make another apple crisp.

I was a lucky girl this afternoon and got to pick up my friend Tanya and her new husband, Dave, from the airport following their honeymoon in Paris.  As a completely unnecessary thank you, Tanya brought these back for me:

My friends, these chocolates, are out.of.this.world.  They kick the ass of any Godiva treats, rivals the sweetest Lindt truffle, and puts pour Laura Secord to shame! On top of it all, they’re just so pretty! I may have had one, or two… or three for dessert. So worth it!

Anyway, try the risotto, you will not be disappointed.

I’m off to have another chocolate…  I mean, clean the kitchen!

Bon Appetit!

Question: Do you enjoy making risotto? I’ll admit it’s a total arm workout. What’s your favourite version?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mushroom beets Risotto, Goats cheese wins!

  1. Yum! I’ve never made risotto but I’ve seen it on 2 pages in the last coupel of days. I need to try it!

  2. Tess says:

    I’ve actually never made risotto either! Actually, I think I’ve only ever had it twice – and one of those times was when your mom made it for me lol. But I will definitely keep this recipe logged away 😉

    PS. The chocolates are beautiful! Were they all the same flavour? And if not, which was your favourite? More details please!! lol

Leave a Reply

