Guilty Pleasures Part Deux

Apparently I wasn’t finished indulging in my guilty pleasures following last night’s post.

I came home from work a little later than expected resulting in me missing the 6:30 Bikram class I planned on attending.  Huge bummer.

But, by turning lemons into lemonade, I decided to get cracking on dinner involving a few of my favorite things including this bad boy:

Mama Starkey’s Cheese Sauce!

There was a lot more to this before I remembered to snap a picture

Broccoli

And topping these gems onto PASTA!

This was the leftover cheese sauce my Mom had sent me packing with a few weeks ago, so all I needed to do was pop it into the microwave to defrost and reheat.

The broccoli on the other hand requires a bit more work.  To be perfectly honest, raw broccoli makes me gag; the harsh taste is just no favorite of mine.

My favourite way to prepare it happens to be extremely simple:

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, dump in your broccoli and let it become that gorgeous bright green colour then drain and submerge into icy cold water.  Drain and set aside.

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet.

Add in your broccoli along with 1-2 cloves of chopped garlic and sauté until heated through and tender crisp.

This proved to be an acceptable topper for some whole wheat pasta doused in Mama Starkey’s cheese sauce.

A little extra sauce on top never hurt anyone 😉

CK and I devoured this along with a pretty spinach salad topped with Angela’s Better Than Bottled Balsamic Vinaigrette:

Who needs bottled when you have this stuff?

Sexy Spinach Salad

Quite the impressive dinner if I do say so myself, even if I did include a few guilty pleasures in there.  I keep telling myself the spinach salad and broccoli helped balance things out 😉

PLUS we even went for a 30 minute walk afterwards so that totally justifies our pigging out!

Now I’m off to haul on my elastic waist pants and dream sweet cheesy dreams.

Have a good night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guilty Pleasures Part Deux

  1. That sauce looks delish! I love Angela’s dressing as well – it rocks!

  2. Tess says:

    Not much to feel guilty about here Jess lol. Especially since it’s homemade cheese sauce….

  3. veggies are my guilty pleasure, i must say. omg and doucing them in vinegar and mustard or salsa is DELICIOUSSSS ❤

Leave a Reply

