Guilty Pleasures

Another weekend has come and gone, but I doubt I could’ve asked for a better one.  Today was especially beautiful- a warm, sunny 20 degrees that demanded to be enjoyed outside.

The lucky girl that I am, I got to spend the afternoon in beautiful downtown Montreal with Amy for some girl talk and shopping.

I haven’t been shopping in far too long.  Well, I’m sure CK would tell you otherwise, but it felt like it’d been way too long 😉

I was pretty good and didn’t spend too much money until I spotted this gem:

True Purse Love

My friends will tell you that I have a major small addiction to purses and they would be 100% right.   I won’t tell you how many I own because it’s slightly embarrassing but I can honestly tell you that no two are the same colour or quite the same size, and so I feel those aspects justify my collection.

Just go with me on this one, alright?

Anyway as soon as I spotted this gorgeous work of fashion art, I decided I needed to once more give into my guilty pleasure habit of purse acquiring, thus the inspiration behind tonight’s post.

Everyone has guilty pleasures.  You know, those items we know aren’t necessary for our livelihood but make us feel that much better whenever we give in?  So tonight, in honour of my guilty pleasure for purses, I’m going to share with you a few of my favorite foodie guilty pleasures:

1)     

It’s no secret that I have a major love affair going on with coffee.  While I don’t have a true appreciation for Canada’s #1 Coffee, I do have a soft spot for Starbucks lattes.  Some personal loves are:

–          Pumpkin Spice Latte (I had my first one this afternoon)

–          Soy Vanilla Latte (classic, tried and true)

–          Peppermint Mocha Latte (Amy and I have a preplanned Starbucks date for when they come out with these at Christmastime)

2)      Uncle Ben’s Spanish Style Rice

It’s not super healthy- I’m sure the sodium content alone would make any other foodie’s head reel- but I don’t care.  It makes my veggie jambalaya taste that much more amazing.  Plus, CK loves it too much for me to substitute any other kind of rice for this dish.  I mean, come on, I make the boy eat tofu; the least I can do is give him rice he loves to go with it, right?

It just adds that li'l somethin to my jambalay

3)      Cheese

My stomach doesn’t love it, but my taste-buds sure do! However, because of my stomach issues, I won’t settle for any brick cheese business that you get in the dairy aisle of the grocery store (Black Diamond- what’s that? a card game?). I need good artisanal cheese that will knock your socks off.  Favorites of mine include:

–          Goats cheese

–          Oka

–          Brie

–          Asiago

I could go on for a while, but you’ll get bored so I’m sure this gives you the right idea.

4)      Salt and Vinegar Potato chips

My Achilles heal.  I can turn my nose up to almost any junkfood but if you put chips in my face, particularly salt and vinegar potato chips, I’m done.  I RARELY (and I mean RARELY) ever buy potato chips and if I do, you best believe it’s in those small vending machine sized bags because no matter what size of bag I buy, the whole thing is gone in 60 seconds.  Well, not really, but almost.

5)      Apple Crisp/Pie

Same kind of story with the potato chips.  I’m not a huge dessert person, I’m definitely a savoury-foods gal, but I cannot turn down homemade apple crisp or pie.   Maybe it’s because my birthday is in the fall, or maybe tt’s due to my love of spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg.  Whatever it is, there is just something so damn good about homemade apple crisp or apple pie that I find it near impossible to resist.

6)      Bread

Oh carbs, how I love thee, let me count the ways. Pasta, rice, grains, bread- I love them all, but it is bread that most captures my heart.  Give me a crusty roll, a fresh baguette, or a good ol’ whole grain loaf and I’m in heaven.  Served with cheese? Even better.

7)   Red Wine

How could I write up a guilty pleasure post including cheese and bread then not include the vino? Enough said.

Now, obviously these are wide ranging guilty pleasures that are pretty decadent and just like I don’t buy a new purse every week, clearly I do not spend my days eating bread, cheese and wine. Guilty pleasures are meant to be enjoyed only every once in a while to make us appreciate those little moments in life.

So there you have it, my guilty pleasures.  Do my choices surprise you? Or could you guess them as you read along?

What are some of your foodie (or non-food) guilty pleasures?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. Tess says:

    You’re so french. Wine, bread, and cheese? The only thing you’re missing is chocolate lol.

    I think my only non-food guilty pleasure would be makeup. And taxis lol. Sometimes, I just don’t wanna ride the bus!

    Food is what I spend the most money on. So in terms of financial food indulgences: good cheese (I’m with ya on that one), organic cereals/baked goods, exotic fruit and veggies, specialty teas, fine chocolate, butcher-quality beef and fish, and Perrier.

    In terms of caloric/gastronomic indulgences (when I’m NOT dieting lol): lattes, extravagant dried fruit and nut mixes, ANY dessert or sweet… particularly ones that include or combine chocolate and nuts (ex. Reeses Pieces, peanut butter gelato, peanut M&M’s), movie popcorn, any ethnic food, and greasy chicken lol.

  2. all of your guilty pleasures look absolutely delicious. I pretty much want that rice.

Leave a Reply

