Listening to your body

Thank goodness it’s Friday.

Those were the words that were going over and over in my head all.day.long.

As I mentioned earlier this week, I was working at an event last night which was outdoors.  Now normally, this would be fine, except last night was this:

It got wet and then wetter

Our break for dinner, I tried my best to defrost. It didn't work so well.

It rained from the time I showed up at 4:00pm to set up until I left at 11:00pm after tear-down.

Despite the horrible weather, more than 150 crazy people showed up.  I call them crazy because only crazy people would’ve shown up to this event under no obligation to do so.  But I love every single one of them for it.

Troopers, every single one of them.

When I got home I took the world’s longest shower – my feet were numb.  I’m praying I don’t sick.

Overall, the weeks leading up to this event have been completely insane, resulting in a ton of this:

And this:

source

There have been far too many 12-13 hour days coupled with 5 or 6 hours of sleep per night. Whenever occurrences like this happen I find myself at times ignoring my body and its wants and needs.

In some instances, I ignore my body in a good way.  See, when I get stressed my appetite decreases… significantly.  So, in order to avoid my weight dropping 5lbs, I focus on eating high-protein dense foods.  Exhibit A:

White bean spread

Veggie Chili

Both of these, I was able to eat in small portions but still get enough protein to sustain myself, and bonus these dishes made for excellent lunches.

But overall, on the non-eating side, ignoring my body proves to be extremely detrimental to my health in other ways.  Sleep deprivation paired with high levels of stress usually results in sickness, no matter how healthy you eat.

I’ve been ignoring my body for the past week and a half where it’s been go, go, go, and today, I fell flat on my face.  I even took a nap this afternoon when I got home from work- FYI that never happens.

So, I felt I should take this time to talk about listening to your body.  Clearly, I’ve proven that I’m not very good at it.  With that in mind, I think I’m going to label listening to my body as my goal for the fall season.

Fall is typically the busiest time of year for me, and not so coincidentally the season where I come down with a horrible sickness that puts me out for a few days.  Let’s see if I can avoid that 😉

So from today onward I am going to try and listen to my body, and improving my mental health, by doing the following:

–          Eat proper, balanced meals 3 times a day with plenty of dark greens, grains, proteins etc…

–          Take an actual lunch break.  I haven’t done that one in way too long- maybe I’ll try and go for a walk on my lunch break (when it’s not raining outside)

–          Get 8 hours of sleep at night

–          GO TO BIKRAM, I’ve been totally slacking in this department and my body is in desperate need of stretching and centering.

–          And last, but most importantly, I’m going to try and leave the office by no later than 6:00pm at night unless absolutely necessary (aka: an occurrence outside the norm)

So there you have it, I am officially entering into rehab from my work-a-holic ways.  My only excuse for my past behavior is that I love my job and I love what I do.  This passion for my work has led me to extremes but has allowed my health to fall by the wayside. I can’t promise I will be perfect, or that I won’t experience a relapse.  But, I’ve found when you speak your goals out loud, or spread them over the internet, it makes it more real.

Wish me luck!

Question: Do you ever ignore your body or push yourself to the limits? How do you try and dial it back?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Listening to your body

  1. Uggh I am usually the worst at this – especially this summer. My body was stressed beyond belief, but I just wouldn’t listen. I dropped 10 pounds because of it. I’m just getting back to my “normal” weight, and although I want to be at this weight, it is giving me such anxiety!!!!

Leave a Reply

