Chili for the Chilly

Ok, where did this weather come from?

One minute I’m sweating basking in the heat and then the next I’m bundled in a scarf and jacket- what gives?

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the fall, it is by far my all-time favorite season.  Not that it has anything to do with the fact that my birthday is in a month. Of course not! 😉

In all seriousness, I really do love Fall… But would it kill mother nature to move into it a bit more slowly?

As it stands, we’re now 100% into cool(er) weather and so I’ve decided to get my fall cooking game on.

Chelsey inspired tonight’s dinner with her awesome looking chili.  I saw it and thought, hmm- yes, that’s what I want tonight.  CK raised no objections either. So chili it was!

My recipe for chili is a bit different than Ms. Chelsey’s (or should I say, “Mrs”? :)) But still pretty good and guaranteed to warm you up on those chilly nights!

You will need:

1 Tbsp canola oil

1 large onion diced

3-4 cloves of garlic minced

1 c. diced carrots

I used baby carrots because its what I had on hand

2 packages Yves ground round (I use 1 regular and 1 Italian flavour)

2/3 c. veggie broth/stock

2 bell peppers diced

2 ½ Tbsp Chili powder

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tsp paprika

salt and pepper to taste

1 796mL can of diced tomatoes

2 398mL cans of tomato sauce

2 cans of red kidney beans

Don't forget to rinse them!

Directions:

In a large (and I mean BIG) sauce pan, heat oil over medium heat.

Add in your diced onions and garlic and sauté until softened ~2-3 minutes

Next, add in your carrots and stir around for a few more minutes

Now, add in your ground round and make sure to break it up really well.

In goes the veggie broth and your spices.  Let all of that heat through and simmer a bit, about 2 minutes, then add in your bell peppers.

Now add in the diced tomatoes, sauce, and kidney beans.  Bring everything to a simmer and then lower the heat to medium-low.  Let it simmer in there for a good hour, or more if you have time.*

*I didn’t have enough time and only simmered for 30 minutes before eating a portion for dinner, but left the rest on the stove before packing it into individual containers for freezing

Instant nose to toes warmer!

This will make a pretty big batch and will keep very well in the freezer.  CK actually prefers his chili when its out of the freezer and reheated.  Go figure.

I served ours with some toasted garlic bread.  So perfect for a crisp Fall evening.

Since this whole process didn’t take very long, I was still in cooking mode and decided to make another apple crisp.

I know, I’m weird but baking is a kind of de-stresser for me and believe you me when I say it’s been stressful these past few weeks.  But most of it is good stress so I don’t mind as much 🙂

I think I’m going to go enjoy a small piece of crisp and then head to bed.  This gal has got a busy day ahead of her tomorrow with a major event going into the late hours of the evening.  So that means no post for tomorrow, sorry!

Until then, why don’t you tell me what some stress-relievers are for you?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chili for the Chilly

  1. Different or not, your chili looks delicious as well! My favorite thing about chili is that it is so versatile! You can basically throw a bunch of ingredients into a pot and as long as it is thick and laden with beans, it’s chili!!

    I cook when I’m stressed… or cry. One of the two. 🙂

  2. Tess says:

    Mmmm Chili… good call. I’m totally with you about the weather! Yesterday was the first day that it wasn’t just cool – it was cold out. Safe to say it’s fall now lol. You’re gonna laugh at me for this one, but when I’m stressed, I clean. I find cleaning my surroundings is like cleaning out my mind of all the clutter that’s distracting me.

Leave a Reply

