Long Weekend!

Words that I associate with Long Weekend usually include:

–          Camping

–          Cottage

–          BBQ

–          Beer/Cocktails

–          Sleep

This image also comes to mind 🙂

While we’re only Friday, my office decided to get a jump-start on the BBQ part of the long weekend and hosted an all-staff BBQ for lunch.  Yes, my work rocks, you don’t need to remind me 🙂

While we were all slightly anxious as to what the weather would be like- one day, they were calling for thunderstorms the next day they’re calling for high(!) heat and humidity.  Luckily (sort of), today was the latter.  It was a blistering hot and sunny day here in Montreal and so the only thing missing were the beers.

We’re laidback here, but not THAT laid back.  Besides the majority of us had to drive home later today 😉

What was even MORE exciting is we invited local Montreal Chef and TV personality, Bob Le Chef, to come chill out and cook with us today.  Seriously, how cool is that?

You know this had my foodie senses tingling and that I absolutely HAD to check this out. Vegetarian or not, I am enough of a food lover to appreciate good food when I see it, even if I won’t eat it.

Everyone meet Bob, le Chef

Forgive my use of the dinky point n shoot camera.  The beast was left behind at home today.

Bob le Chef, is an amateur skateboarder turned pro chef. When he realized a career in the culinary arts would be far more successful than in the skate-park, he went off to cooking school and came out with a mantra for using cheap, fresh, local ingredients to cook good food.  All in all, Bob le Chef is a laid-back skater dude who loves to cook. Sorry ladies, he’s taken!

While he may be off the market, his food was off the hook.  Granted, the tofu dogs I was given were, well tofu dogs and nothing to write home about.  But his simple recipe for potatoes and onions were sweet and savoury with a nice smoky flavour to them, and the Coleslaw was some of the best I’ve ever tasted.  I seriously need to recreate this recipe, it wasn’t too vinegar-y and wasn’t too creamy. Instead it was light, crisp and fresh. He also served regular hot dogs and, what I was told “awesome” BBQ chicken.  The recipe will be featured in is upcoming cookbook, due out this October.

Sadly, I got so caught up in the fun, my camera was a little bit neglected.  Here’s my plate:

Tofu dog, coleslaw and potatoes. I had this twice 🙂

But, what was really cool, was that I won a copy of his current cookbook: L’anarchie culinaire, selon Bob le Chef.  Translation: Culinary Anarchy, according to Bob le Chef.

He even autographed it for me!

Jess,

Vive la cuisine libre

Bob le Chef

This would roughly translate to “Long Live Free Cooking” or “Long Live Free Food”

What’s really interesting about this cookbook is that he references his recipes according to cost of the meal.  He has 5 categories ranging from $0.0-$1.99 meals to $7.00 to $10.00.  None of his recipes cost over $10.00 which I think is pretty cool for all you budget-wise cooks out there! It’s nice to see a bonafide chef who appreciates frugality and quality meals at the same time.

I had the intention of making one of his recipes tonight but I needed to go to the mall, and well, I don’t think I need to tell you that resulted in my getting home a little late to be making a new recipe. 😉

However, I did manage to make this:

Pita Pizza with sauce, avocado, green pepper, mushrooms topped with spices and nutritional yeast.  Very delicious.

Oh and I got that beer afterall 😉

Reeeefreshing!

Rest assured, I will be testing out some of Bob’s recipes in the near future; and while I won’t be posting the recipes themselves, I will give you my honest opinion on them and whether I would make it again.

What’s even better- you get to decide what I make first!

You get to choose between:

1)      Vegetarian Chili

2)      Apple Muffins

3)      Pommes de Terre à l’ognion (Potatoes with onions, sounds much better in French)

4)      Vegetable Gratin

5)      Orange Beetroot Salad

Cast your votes and I’ll decide next week which one makes the cut!

Well, on that note, I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Friday and kick-off the long weekend.

Question: Which Bob le Chef recipe would you like to see me make?

What are your plans for the long weekend?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long Weekend!

  1. Tess says:

    I think I love Bob le Chef haha. And what a great idea to list recipes by cost! Personally, I’d love to see this Pommes de Terre a l’ognion that has a smokey flavour to it 😉

Leave a Reply

