Cravings

Good Evening!

Ok, so I know I can’t be alone when I say that sometimes when a craving strikes me I just have to give in to it, no matter what. Right?

So today, while I was busy thinking about what to make for dinner working, I saw on Heather’s Dish that she had made Apple Crisp.  Suddenly, all I could think about was cinnamon, apples, nutmeg and oats. Before I knew it, I was drafting out my own Apple Crisp recipe that I needed to make stat!

Remember when I told you that baking is a good procrastination tool? Well it turns out that planning for baking is equally as good.

Anyway, once I figured out dessert, I decided to plan dinner.  I have no idea where this craving came from, but all I could think about was Mexican food.  I wanted rice, spice, corn, zucchini and I wanted it right.now!

In case you were wondering, no I am not pregnant. 😉

So when I got home I immediately deposited myself in the kitchen and got busy.

First, I put on my rice for the dinner, and let it do its thing so I could get a crispin’

I had some gorgeous Red Paula apples chillin in my fruit bowl demanding to be used, and so use them I did.

Add in some cane sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, and a dash of vanilla and my babies were good to go, ready to be topped with crispy, oat-y goodness.

Bring on this guy

Brown sugar, flour, a bit more cinnamon, some vegan margarine and we were in business.

I set all that aside and moved back to dinner.

I sautéed up some onion, garlic, tofu, zucchini, corn, and peppers, and dumped that into 2 bowls with salsa.

After depositing my crisp in the oven, CK and I devoured our bowls and then he promptly demanded his dessert.

I made him work for it by mowing the lawn 😉 Though this left me with the dishes 😦 Oh well, you can’t win ‘em all, right?

When he was finished with the lawn the house smelled amazing all thanks to this guy:

Believe it or not it tasted even more amazing than it looks.  I envision this being involved with tomorrow’s breakfast where I’ll hopefully get a better shot for you than this:

While we wait for that glorious shot to come to fruition, I’ll leave you for now with the recipe:

Vanilla Maple Apple Crisp
Inspired by Heather’s Dish

Filling

3 medium sized apples, cut into 1 inch chunks

3 Tbsp cane sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp ground nutmeg

¼ tsp all spice

Dash of vanilla extract

Topping

1 ½ c. of rolled oats

2 tbsp brown sugar

¼ c. whole wheat flour

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ c. vegan margarine melted (or regular ol’ butter will do wonderfully)

¼ c. maple syrup

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F

Combine apples, sugar, spices and vanilla together in a bowl, stir to thoroughly mix together and pour into 8 x 8 (or similar) greased pan or dish, set aside.

Mix oats, flour, sugar, and cinnamon together then add in your margarine and syrup, stir them all together and crumble onto your apples.

Bake for 30 minutes until golden, fragrant and bubbly.

Enjoy for breakfast, lunch, and dinner 😉

Question: Do you get intense cravings at times? What do you crave most often?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cravings

  1. that looks SO good – I usually crave veggies. Lots and Lots of veggies!!!

  2. Kelsey says:

    i always get mexican cravi ngs but i do a horrible job at satisfying them!! mm and crumbles and crisps are always stuck on my mine. my mom used to make a mean apply crisp that ive been begging her to make again, hopefully she will soon! this looks really good, surely helped satisfy those cravings ❤

    xoxo

  3. Heather says:

    DROOL! yours looks so much better than mine…i love the addition of maple syrup too! nothing says fall like good maple and cinnamon flavors!

  4. Pingback: Chili for the Chilly « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

