7 Things you did not know about me + 1 Confession

Hey Everyone,

So last week, the lovely Chelsey kindly nominated me for a Versatile Blogger award.  As the recipient of this award I am asked to share 7 facts you may not know about me.

So I gave it some thought and here is what I came up with:

1)      I was a high school cheerleader and I am not the least bit ashamed of it. My  4 years on the team were memorable, fun, and all-around amazing. We had a great group of girls that respected and pushed each other to achieve success.   Before you ask, yes I was the “girl they threw in the air” otherwise known as a “top”.  Here’s a pic of me and a teammate Jenn, I believe this was provincials in grade 11 (I’m on the right).

Oh and before you even attempt that “it’s not even a sport” crap, let me just say that team whipped my butt into major shape! We would train 10 hours a week, more if we had a competition coming up and we were in better shape than our football team!  I even had a six pack and I’m not talking about beer 😉

2)      I have metal plates in my arm.  I broke my arm when I was 15 (in cheerleading) and because I broke both bones in my forearm, the doctor needed to put in metal plates and screws for support. No, I do not set off airport alarms.

I have a matching scar on the other side of my arm

3)      I am shamelessly completely addicted to pickles! I LOVE salty/tangy foods and pickles just fit the bill for me. I will find any excuse to incorporate them into recipes.  These are a dangerous item for me to stock in my pantry on a regular basis.

Exhibit A: Dilly Potato Salad

4)      I can sew and not just pillow cases. Yes, call me Martha, but I don’t care.  Sewing allows you save serious $$ on things like:

–          Prom dresses

Me and Karo at our University's Grad Formal, 2007

–          Curtains

–          Throw pillows

–          Napkins and placemats

I’m actually planning a fun sewing project/giveaway this fall so keep your eyes peeled 🙂

5)      I used to be a smoker. I’m not the least bit proud of this, but what I am proud of is the fact that I QUIT cold turkey just over 2 years ago.  CK was very instrumental in helping me make this decision.  The statement: “Well, if you keep smoking, then I just won’t kiss you anymore” can be pretty effective. Well, it is if you love the person you’re kissing.

6)      I don’t want to be in marketing forever.  SHOCK! I know.  I’m sure you’re floored by this statement especially with my workaholic tendencies.  The truth of the matter is I’ve harbored a secret desire to own day open up my own café.  Hopefully this will happen before I’m 35, 10 ½ more years to go!

7)      I don’t like Tim Horton’s coffee. Canadians reading this just dropped their mugs; everyone else is scratching their heads and searching on Google, trying to figure out what Tim Horton’s is.  It’s our answer to Dunkin Donuts and, in true Canadian fashion, was started by NHL player, Tim Horton.  I drink my coffee black, so by not masking the taste with milk and sugar, I can’t have burnt or really strong, bitter coffee. I need mild and flavourful.  Tim’s hasn’t gotten my message yet.

Ok, now here’s my real confession.  As the recipient of this award, I’m supposed to nominate 15 other bloggers. Now for most people, that ain’t a problem for me it kind of is for two big reasons.

1)      I don’t know 15 bloggers, look at my blogroll, and while I admire these people a great deal, I don’t necessarily “converse” with them on a regular basis, mainly because I’m shy

2)      I’m very shy in the blogger community and have a hard time “putting myself out there”.  I don’t mind writing my thoughts and recipes on here, but I do have a hard time reaching out to other bloggers and readers : S

Those reasons taken into consideration, I don’t feel 100% comfortable nominating other bloggers. NOT because I don’t think they deserve it, but because they’ve either already been nominated or I’m too chicken to nominate them. I know that sounds silly, but that’s just how I roll these days.  I hope you can forgive me?

I do promise that as I become more immersed in the food-blogger community (a goal of mine actually) that I WILL nominate bloggers who deserve this award.  Deal?

Question for Bloggers: have you ever experienced these fears? How did you get over them?
Question for Non-Bloggers/readers: tell me 7 things I don’t know about you!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Things you did not know about me + 1 Confession

  1. Awesome facts! I agree – cheerleading is totally a sport. Was I a cheerleader? No. But I think you have to lots of hard work!

    Those pictures don’t even look like yoU!!!

    I feel special that you talk to me 🙂

    • Haha well the first pic was taken nearly 9 years ago- scary thought. As for the second, my hair hasn’t been that blonde probably since it was taken.
      I feel special that you talk to me too 🙂

  2. Tess says:

    Wait, so were you just nominated or did you actually win? Either way, you SHOULD win. Just look at the huge range of things you’ve written about! Again, awesome post. Those were definitely some fun and informative facts 🙂

    Don’t think there’s much you don’t know about me…. but I’ll take a crack at it:
    1) We’ve talked about opening our own businesses (restaurant and gym) but did you know I have the exact same deadline? Yup, 35 years old. I actually sat down and made up a 10 year plan last night… no joke!
    2) I’m addicted to gum. Lately I’ve been chewing 3-5 pieces per day.
    3) I cheated on my diet. I KNOW!! Shhhh. It was an apple and peanut butter. I felt really bad for about a day then got over it lol. I also sometimes take nibbles of John’s food or throw raisins in with my oatmeal.
    4) I don’t want kids. At least, not now. And I don’t see myself wanting them later either. This coming from the woman who was convinced her sole purpose on this earth was to have babies.
    5) I sing in the woods
    6) I’m jealous of your flat tummy (seriously, even after a big Indian feast it’s still flat! What gives?!!)
    7) If I could be any woodland creature, I’d be a squirrel

  3. uno what, tim hortons coffee is only good in certain places. im not being biased but the coffee here from them is really mild! but we are a ‘retirement’ city and people here are overly picky about their coffee, but rightfully so. when i travelled across BC i noticed each timmy ho had a different taste and some places served the most bitter and yucky coffee like u described. hmm starbucks is like that for me except most of them here have super strong bitter coffee..yet elsewhere there tends to be some good brews..i think its who makes it and how much they scoop into the filter cup.
    kk enough about coffee hehe ❤

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

