Summer Grillin’

Happy Monday!

Ok, not to sound like a huge work-dork, but I had an amazing day at work today.  You know those days where you’re just on a roll and everything is getting done and going smoothly? Today was definitely one of those days.

Yes, I am a nerd, we’ve already established that.

Moving on.

Today was also another gorgeous 30 degree day.  The sun was shining bright, the sky was blue and everyone seemed to be in a good mood because of it.

CK and I decided that we’d rather spend as much time outdoors rather than sweating profusely under a hot stove.  So BBQ it was!

I hopped over to the grocery store on my way home from work and found the most gorgeous looking pineapple.  Grilled Pineapple it is! Pineapple has got to be one of my favorite foods.  The tangy juicy sweetness of it rocks my world so much that I don’t even cringe over its price tag.  Mind you this is the first time I bought it this summer, so clearly I don’t indulge myself too often.

Pineapple is a very versatile fruit in my opinion, it works well both in sweet and savoury dishes (Hawaiian Pizza, anyone?)

I decided to keep things on the sweet side today, just because I was in the mood.

So, here’s my recipe for Grilled Pineapple Salad

You will need:
1 medium Pineapple

2 medium peaches or nectarines

½ a red onion thickly sliced (I sliced my half into thirds)

1/3 c. fresh mint

1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil

¼ tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat BBQ to medium-high heat

Peel your pineapple, removing the outer skin completely

Slice into 1/2 -1 inch thick slices and brush with olive oil

Slice your onion and brush with oil

I love how the purple of the onions contrasts with my lime green plate!

Lay out your slices onto a tray and season with salt

Grill ‘em

The onion will take 3-5 minutes total, your pineapple will take about 7-10 minutes, you’ll want to get nice grill marks on there and make sure they’ve softened up a bit.

Meanwhile, dice up your nectarine and pop them into a bowl and add in your mint.

Let your grilled pineapple and onions cool for a few minutes then roughly chop them up and add them to the bowl. You could add in some baby spinach or mixed greens in at this point, but I decided not to.

CK enjoyed this with 2 steaks (I’m serious) and I grilled up a portabello mushroom doused with this BBQ sauce:

I then popped it onto a Kaiser bun with some of my grilled onions.  I meant to add a pickle on here too, but forget- oh well!

Pretty awesome summer –y dinner if I do say so myself.

Well, I’m off to spend some quality time with CK (read: give him the massage he’s demanding).

Merci, bon soir!

What’s your favorite ‘summer’ food/meal?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Grillin’

  1. that looks really good! i’d have to say my favorite summer time food is anything grilled – i really love portabellas and any other kind of grilled veggie!!

Leave a Reply

