Cuz I’m leaving…

On the Go Train…

Don’t know when I’ll be back again… 😦

Goodbye, Oakville! I will miss you, until we meet again!

Before I left, I had one last hooray in the T.Dot with none other than Susan of The Balancing Act fame.  When I mentioned I was coming home, we agreed to meet up for a bite to eat and lunch today was the time that worked out best!

We decided to hit up a place neither of us had visited but had both wanted to scope out: The Queen Mother Cafe located on Queen St. W.  Aka: one of my all time favorite streets in the world.

I walked the 5 or 6 blocks from Union station to the Café in the 30+ degree weather.  So when I arrived, I was more than a little sweaty- sorry Susan!

This was my first-ever blogger meet-up so I was both extremely nervous and extremely excited at the same time; I’d compare it to a first-date-jitters feeling.  I hope I made a good first impression! 😉

When we sat down we both dug out cameras to snap photos of the menu and I immediately felt more at ease. It’s such a nice feeling to not be the only one snapping pictures every 5 minutes in a restaurant! I quite liked it.

While perusing the menu we drooled over their French Toast but inevitably we both fell for the, rumored, “best-ever veggie burger”.  We laughed a bit over that 🙂

It was really fun to get to know Susan a bit outside of her blog, she is a very sweet and funny person!

When the food came, we both knew we had made the right decision.  First, the burger was served in a soft and uber –delicious pita filled with lettuce, tomato, cucumber and what seemed like their version of Thousand Island dressing only not as mayonnaise-y if you get me.

Mine was literally oozing with the stuff.

The burger itself was protein-packed (whole peanuts were sticking out) and really, really good.  The texture was grainy and the flavour nutty with a bit spice to it.  It was served up with a fresh salad and nicoise olives (my favourite).

I don’t know that it was the “best-ever” but definitely ranked in my top 5.  We both cleaned our plates and declared ourselves satisfied and showed some willpower by avoiding the dessert menu.  However, Susan was kind enough to present me with some of the caramel Simply Bars samples she had been handing out yesterday.

Susan- I ate one while on the train and it was fantastic, loved the flavour!

Soon it was time to go, so we paid, packed up (well I did, since I had my luggage with me) and we headed out, Susan back to towards the East End, me back East to Montreal.

All in all it was the perfect way to wrap up my weekend in Toronto.

Oh Toronto, it gets harder and harder to leave you every time I come back.  Maybe one day I’ll be able to call you home once more.

Until then, farewell my fair city!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cuz I’m leaving…

  1. How fun – haven’t had a meet up yet, but want to!

  2. i dont blame you for missing toronto! ive never been out east but i know i NEED TO asap! the shopping and food is of particular appeal. id try to find a way to stay there.. wouldnt wanna bother coming back home lol.

    mmm simply bar samples ❤ NICE!!!

    xoxo

  3. Susan says:

    It was awesome getting to meet you Jessica!! I love putting faces, voices, and full-fledged personalities to the blogs I read. Of course, the delicious veggie burgers didn’t hurt 😉 Glad to hear your train ride back was good and that you liked the bar. You should check out my blog, I got a sweeet shot of you in food blogging action. I’m verrrry sneaky that way 😉 Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

