Home Sweet Home

 Ah, Toronto, how I’ve missed you!

This weekend has been so nice and relaxing. I got in last night at 8:30 and met up with a friend for a drink to catch up before taking the train into Oakville to stay with my parents for the weekend.

When I got in last night, the office, formerly known as my room was all set up and waiting for me:

Has this happened to you yet? I feel your pain if it has.

"Pillow Mints" care of: my Dad's sense of humor

Despite the air mattress, I got a good night’s sleep and stumbled down to wish my brother a good day at work and this:

I covet my Mother's kitchen

Having the coffee made for you on Saturday morning is one of life's greatest little pleasures

There aren’t many things I regret in life, but part of me is wistful that I never really got to enjoy living at home post-college.  Literally, the weekend following my graduation I started a job in Montreal, so I’m always super happy whenever I get the opportunity to spend a week or a weekend at home.  It makes you appreciate the finer thing in life like a well-stocked fridge you didn’t have to stock and breakfast you didn’t have to buy:

Shredded Wheat cereal with some granola on top. Mmmm!

Following my breakfast my Mom and I spent the day together running a series of errands, chatting by the pool with a superb veggie tray prepared by yours truly:

Paradise.

And then I helped her with some PR stuff my parents’ golf club.  Oh and I was hired on as my parents photographer for their house they may or may not be selling. Only if they find the “right” place, I’m told.  Is anyone in the market for nice 3 bedroom 2 bathroom house in Bronte area of Oakville?

Anyway post-photo shoot we had a fabulous meal that I kind of forgot to photograph, this is all I’ve got to show for it:

Pre-dinner cocktail. I love my parents' bar glasses!

I swear the wine was excellent and mushrooms went supremely well with the snowpeas that went un-pictured.

Anyway, it’s now 10:00pm and my family, though we love to wine and dine, tires out quickly and so we’ve all turned in for the night. I’m going to snuggle up with Eat, Pray, Love- yes I’ve jumped on the bandwagon, and yes, I’m enjoying it so far.

Bonne nuit mes amis!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home Sweet Home

  1. Susan says:

    My old bedroom now belongs to two 14 and 16-year-old girls. When I go home, it’s likely someone will have to sleep on the couch, but I still love me new step-sisters 🙂 I spent a month living at home this spring and it was probably one of my favourite periods of time in recent memory. My mom and I always joke that we could easily end up living together into our old age if we’re not careful, so it’s imperative we make an effort to live apart. Parents are definitely the bestest.

    See you tomorrow!!!! (!!!)

  2. I lived at home for a year after I graduated. It was really nice to come home to a fully stocked kitchen courtesy of Mom every day. It did get a little old after a while – I think a year was a little too long! 🙂

    I now only live about 15 minutes from them, so I can’t see why I would ever need to stay with them…but if I had to, I would be going home to an office as well!

Leave a Reply

