Where am I?

Any ideas?

If you guessed “train” you win.  Don’t ask me what you win as I haven’t the slightest idea, but- you win! Start your Friday night on a good note!

Anyway, I’m blogging to you live somewhere between Cornwall, ON and Kingston, ON making my way home.  I don’t normally take the train, as it IS faster to fly, but I think I may have to start taking the train more often.  Sure it takes a bit longer but it’s just so convenient!

First- it’s cheaper (much cheaper) to take the train especially when you book semi-last minute like I did.  So that’s convenience for my wallet and bank account.

Second- WIFI! None of this “turning off all electronic devices before take-off and ensuring your satellite receiving signals are off at all times” business.  So even though I’ve left work a bit early today , I can still be reached in an emergency! How convenient 😉

Third- it’s a pretty scenic ride.  Sure, it can be flat and at times repetitive, but how often do you get to sit back and enjoy the countryside once in a while? Convenient site seeing.

All in all I’m pretty happy with my train experience.  What’s even better, is the food doesn’t completely suck either.

As was the habit this week I got home from work pretty late last night and so dinner was a falafel plate from Amir, for which leftovers served as lunch and the only snacks I had were an apple and a peach.  Clearly this girl was in need of sustenance for the 4 hour ride home.

I was on the fence about actually buying anything when the girl sitting next to me ordered a sandwich and I spotted carrots- VEGGIES- that came in the package.  So, I promptly ordered an egg salad, cringed over the $6 knowing very well that I’d really only be eating the carrots and the bread if I got desperate, when I spotted: Couscous!

That’s right, my utterly disgusting sandwich, and I can honestly say disgusting as I had 1 bite, came with a  couscous and chickpea salad! Miracle of miracles! Thank you VIA Rail for trying to serve me a healthy meal- could’ve used more veggies, but I appreciate the valiant effort on your part.

I apologize to the poor girl who had to sit next to the “strange girl who took pictures of her food and then put it up on a website”.  I swear I’m not as crazy as I look!

Homeward bound I go!

Question: Have you ever taken the train for long(er) distance travel? What was your experience like? And to my fellow bloggers: Where’s the weirdest place you’ve taken a picture of food for your blog? Tell me I’m not the only one!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where am I?

  1. I used to take the train sometimes back to school – it was only a 2 hour trip though.

    the weirdest place i’ve ever taken a pic of my food? I’m not sure – probably standing on my picnic table in the backyard with neighbors looking at me.

Leave a Reply

