Keep it Simple, Stupid!

Wow, it seems like every day this week I’m blogging later and later.  At this rate I’ll be blogging at midnight on Friday! I think it has something to do with the fact that I’m coming home later and later from work.  Oh well.  To be honest, I am loving every minute of! My job has certainly been challenging me lately, but I’m proud of how I’ve risen to the occasion.

But enough on my workaholic tendencies, let’s move on the real reason why you’re here- the food!

Dinner’s theme tonight was “simplicity”, and “use up whatever I have because I’m leaving on Friday and don’t want things rotting in my fridge over the weekend”. Try saying that 5 times fast 😉

I had a head of broccoli in the fridge that was begging to be used before it went bad on me.  I also had a sweet potato lurking on my counter. Oh and what else do I spot in my fridge?

Leftover whole-wheat spaghettini!

Then I reached into the deep, dark depths of my pantry and found these guys:

Thai curry it is!

And dinner was born.

This really isn’t a spectacular recipe but it hit the spot and is keeping my satisfied.  As my mother enjoys saying:  Keep it simple, stupid.  And so I did.

I’m calling this dish: Lazy Woman’s Roasted Veggie Coconut Curry

You will need:

2 c. chopped broccoli florets

1 large sweet potato diced

2 Tbsp olive oil

¼ tsp sea salt

1 tsp garlic

2-3 c. cooked pasta or grain of choice (I also enjoy using quinoa for this dish)

1 can coconut milk (I used “light” coconut milk)

2 Tbsp red curry paste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

In a large bowl combine broccoli, sweet potato, oli, garlic and salt, toss to combine

Dump the contents into a roasting dish and bake 20-35 minutes
Note: the broccoli will probably be done in 20 minutes and your sweet potato will need another 10-15 minutes

Roasted veggie goodness!

Meanwhile cook pasta or grain of choice if not using leftovers, once cooked set aside

Once veggies are cooked, set aside.

In a large skillet or wok, heat coconut milk over medium-low heat and whisk in curry paste.  Taste and adjust paste to your tastes.
Note: if you prefer milder curries, add in 1 Tbsp at a time, taste and add more if needed

Once sauce starts to simmer add in vegetables and grains, remove from heat and stir until heated through.

Serve, garnish with cashews or cilantro if desired. Enjoy!

Simple, easy, and will provide an excellent lunch for me tomorrow.

I then may or may not have had a big juicy peach for dessert. Mmm Mmm!

Well, that’s all she wrote folks.  Hope you had a fabulous Wednesday!

Question: Are you a “keep it simple” kinda person or do you prefer creating unique and complex dishes?
I’m on the fence with this one, at times I love creating crazy dishes with unique flavour pairings, but I can also appreciate the comfort of simple dishes.

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keep it Simple, Stupid!

  1. I love the keep it simple stupid mantra! I am a total simplifier in the kitchen – I don’t like long complicated recipes!

  2. Tess says:

    Wow, I had no idea where you going with the broccoli, yam, and pasta. But it looks like it turned out well! haha

    I actually prefer the more complex stuff. That’s not to say that my cooking is never simple – a pb&j is magical! But when I do set time aside to really cook I like to tackle unique dishes as much as my budget/time/hubby will allow lol.

  3. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

