Walk on the Wild Side

I got home work at 6:10- too late to make it to Bikram but I still had a ton of energy. This would have been the perfect time for a run- damn ankle, heal!

Anyway, since I was bursting with energy, and not completely starving, I did what any sane, normal person would do:  soak some cashews.

What? You wouldn’t do that? Once you see what I did with them, you will.  Oh you will!

While the cashews were soaking, I decided to put my energy to good use and do some chores. You know, laundry, scrub floors, clean bathroom, vacuum…

This is what happens when you have an injury inhibiting your typical cleaning procrastination tendencies.

Anyway, once the house was spic n span I tackled my cashews to make what has got to be my “wildest” dressing to date!

The star of the show?

These guys!

Bluets Sauvages Frais!
(Fresh Wild Blueberries!)

I’m calling this my Wild Blueberry Dressing

You will need:

1/3 c cashews, soaked 1-2 hours

2 Tbsp water

Juice from ½ a lemon

3 Tbsp wild blueberries

½ tsp honey

In your blender combine cashews and water, blend until you get a thick paste.

Next, add in your lemon and honey and blend until smooth.

Now, add in your blueberries and take a semi-blurry photo whilst standing on your countertop and call it “artsy”

Very Jackson Pollock, no?

Blend all together and taste- you may decide to add more honey or lemon depending on your taste preferences.  I like my dressing a bit on the tart side, so if you prefer sweeter, you may want to add up to another ½ tsp of honey.

Now what do you do with this wild dressing? Make one wild beast of a salad to go with it!

–          Spinach, with more blueberries

–          Peaches

–          Then I decided to get crazy and add: tomato, slivered almonds, and some vegan parm cheeze to get that sweet/salty thing going on

Up close and personal

–          Top it with your wild dressing

–          Figure out how many times it is acceptable to use the word “wild” in one blog post

–          Enjoy!

Well dear friends that is it for me.  I think I’ll go bug CK, this is where I found him mid-blog post.

Clearly, we are Montreal’s wildest couple!

G’night!

Question: What’s your “wildest” recipe?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Walk on the Wild Side

  1. I don’t think I have any wild recipes – I kind of play it safe. 🙂

  2. Tess says:

    Wow, uber creative recipe Jess! Was that an original, or did you find inspiration from somewhere?

Leave a Reply

