Reason

Reason number 5849 why I do not nap: I can never sleep that night!

I was definitely tossing and turning all.night.long. CK was super lucky to be sleeping next to me last night!

I woke up with a head full of straw and a stomach that wasn’t sure whether it was hungry or nauseous.  Great.

Rather than take the easy way out with some dry toast, I decided to kick breakfast into high gear (don’t ask me why) and cook myself a hearty breakfast.  I guess all those subliminal messages about starting your day off with a healthy breakfast really struck a chord with me in my misspent youth?

I’d been seeing images across the blog world of these so-called “Banana Scrambles”.  As a die-hard banana lover (keep you rmind out of the gutter, please), I needed to give it a shot.

So, when this nightmare of a morning finally arrived, I hobbled down the stairs and I nearly tripped… twice (we have all of 8 steps connecting our main floor and upper floor), I decided mid 2nd stumble that banana scramble it was.

There are so many versions out there, so I took a bit of this and a bit of that and here is my first attempt.  Inspiration for this one comes mainly from Ashley over at Edible Perspective:

¾ of a banana (I munched on the remaining ¼ while prepping the rest)

1 heaping Tbsp almond butter

2 Tbsp vanilla soy milk

1 tbsp coconut

½ tsp cinnamon

3 tbsp rolled oats

I saw via the lovely Chelsey that these can be a bit “gooey” inside, when I plopped my massive “scramble” onto the pan, I could see why.  So I split the mess down the middle to create 2 littler pancakes to see if that would be easier.  Miraculously, it worked!

I plopped these bad boys onto 9 grain bread topped with almond butter and then I drizzled the mess with honey.

So. Good!

Why have I never made this before? What is wrong with me?

Don’t answer that.

So you’re probably wondering what I actually made with those beets yesterday?

Well whether you are or not, I’ll show you anyway!

Meet my Wild Granny Beets salad!

The inspiration for this was simple: I wanted to make a grain salad with wild rice in there.  Then I saw the beets in the produce aisle, and figured granny smith apples would work really well with those flavours and so an obnoxiously named salad was born!

You will need:

1 c. wild and brown rice blend

2 c. water

5 beets, golden or red, your choice, however I like how the red beets turn the rice pink. CK had no comment for this observation

1 Granny smith apple chopped

¼ c. walnuts

¼ c. dried cranberries

1 Tbsp dried basil

Sea salt and pepper to taste

Maple-Balsamic Dressing

¼ c. olive oil

3 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

1 Tbsp Maple Syrup

Directions:

Combine oil, vinegar, and maple syrup to make dressing, set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 F, cut stems off beets, place on sheet of aluminum foil, drizzle with 1-2tbsp of olive oil, wrap in foil and insert into oven. Bake for approximately 1 hour, until tender-crisp, remove from oven and let cool.

While the beets are baking, take your rice and pop into a sieve or strainer and rinse under cool water, this helps remove some of the excess starch.

I know, I know, it’s a pain in the ass.  I vocalized the same thing to my mother for nearly 20 years, but you know that saying “Mom’s are always right”? …. Anyway

Once you’ve rinsed off your rice, add it with your 2 c. water into medium sauce pan, bring to boil, cover and simmer until liquid absorbed, remove from heat and keep covered.

Once beets are cooled completely, gently remove their skins. I highly recommend using a pair of rubber gloves to do this, unless of course you like having pink hands.

Dice beets, and add into bowl with rice.

Toss in walnuts, cranberries, basil, salt and pepper.

Mix well then add in your dressing, taste and adjust seasonings- you may decide to add in more balsamic vinegar- totally up to you.

I then covered up the mixture, shoved it in the fridge and forgot about it until tonight when I came home starving!

No, I did not go to Yoga tonight as I was about ready to faceplant onto my keyboard most of today. They tend to frown upon you when you pass out in a dead faint in Bikram.

Anyway, I came plopped some of this granny goodness onto a bed of leftover salad from yesterday drizzled on some extra balsamic and went to town!

Afterwards I had a photoshoot with my peaches.  I’ve never once claimed I’m normal.

Now, I’m tired and slightly grumpier than this morning- time for bed!  I think tomorrow will be a banana-bluebell day!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reason

  1. I ohpe you’re not getting sick!!!

    Ashley talked to me.. I guess they’re supposed to be gooey? Next time I think I’ll do what you did though! Good idea! Aren’t they delicious?

  2. Susan says:

    Love the looks of that beet salad! (and not just because it’s pink 😉 ) And the banana scramble sounds interesting. I maaaay have to try a version with a little protein kick 😉

  3. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

