Seeking Comfort

Evening Everyone!

Well, another weekend has come and gone.  Tomorrow I’ll be up at 6am, slightly grumpy and very hungry (CK avoids me around this time- I wonder why?) But until that time comes, I am going to enjoy the fact that it’s only 7:00pm and I’ve successfully cooked dinner, cleaned up, and I’m now in my pj’s blogging.  Life, dear people, is good. Oh and I made dinner for tonight AND tomorrow. Yep, I’m just that good! More on that later…

I devoted today as a day of comfort. I spent my time doing activities that were restful and enjoyable to me.  All in all it was a perfect Sunday!

We woke up this morning to the pitter patter of rain.  Normally this would annoy me, but on a completely restful weekend such as this one, it made me feel like I was by a waterfall at the spa.

2 cups of coffee and 7 pancakes later (hey, they were SMALL), CK and I packed up and bid farewell to his parents.  As we made our way back home, CK dropped me off at my car (we left straight from work on Friday, so my car was in the parking lot at work), so I could go forage for dinner, among a few other things.

Since I was already in grocery shop mode, I also made  a quick stop to what is quickly becoming a favourite stop-over of mine, Bulk Barn! I love how cheap this place is for things like dried fruit and nuts, which tend to cost me an arm and my soul at the grocery store.  I managed to pick up some fun things like this guy:

Unsweetened mango slices!

I also bought:

Apricots

Dried Cranberries

Apple slices

Dates

I promptly dipped two of these into almond butter when I got home for a quickie snack.

Along with a glass of Gatorade- was feeling really dehydrated!

CK gets this stuff by the truck load, it's always in our house!

Then, dear readers, I did something that I almost never do- I took a nap! Now this usually indicates one of 2 things:

1)      I didn’t get enough sleep the night before, so not the cases with this weekend

2)      I am getting sick

I sincerely hope it’s not the latter, but I’m making the conscious effort to make sure I go to bed early tonight and take proper care of myself to avoid this!

Anyway, I took a brief nap and felt a lot better, so here’s hoping my body has just been a bit exhausted from the busy week I had.

CK and I didn’t really eat lunch today so an early dinner was in order.

I still had some of my creamy pesto sauce leftover from Thursday so we decided to use up that for dinner tonight.

Best.Idea.Ever.

To add a li’l somethin’ somethin’ to it I sautéed some ‘shrooms and tomatoes in garlic and olive oil which I then added to the sauce:

step 1: saute mushrooms in 1 tbsp olive oil, then add in garlic and 1 chopped tomato

step 2: add in sauce

Step 3: wipe drool from side of mouth

Let’s just say the end result was nothing short of foodgasmic.  It was the perfect sauce for one of my favorites: Spaghettini!

Naturally I topped mine off with some more vegan parm cheeze.  I’m a total sucker for this stuff.

Oh and we had a salad to go with it

frisee lettuce, cucumber, radishes, granny smith apple

Along with homemade balsamic vinaigrette:

¼ c. olive oil

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp maple syrup

Simple and delicious

Like I mentioned earlier I also made dinner for tomorrow night.  I figured I’d get it out of the way now since I’ll be at my Bikram class tomorrow until 8:30pm.  So rather than stress out about rushing home, changing and prepping dinner before I rush off again to class, I planned ahead like the good girl I am so dinner will be ready for CK when he gets home from work.  Yes, I am an awesome girlfriend, no need to remind me hehe

But you’ll have to stay tuned to see what it is.  I will give you a hint though, it involves these beauties:

Figured it out? Stop by tomorrow to see if you’re right!

What’s your favorite way to use roast beets?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeking Comfort

  1. your dinner looks amazing!!!! pesto rocks

Leave a Reply

