It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…

Molly is snoring…

Have I never introduced you to Molly before? Shame on me!

She’s quite the ham I promise you.

However, she is a pain-in-the-ass sweetheart and is the property of CK’s parents, though there have been offers for CK and I to take ownership. We’ve yet to accept 😉

Like the title states, it’s been raining here… all day. So while the boys got up at the ungodly hour of 6am to hit a ball with a stick (NEVER will I understand why people play golf for “fun”), CK’s Mom and I relaxed while drinking coffee, gossiping chatting, and eating a hearty breakfast:

This is "my" mug for whenever I'm up here, it holds the most coffee

Special K Vanilla Almond cereal ❤ topped with bananas, wild blueberries and blackberries, and some of the most amazing Quebec strawberries I’ve ever tasted.

I don’t know what it is with me and strawberries, but it’s been an ongoing love affair since I knew what a strawberry was.  Every year I wait anxiously for summer to roll in (I refuse to buy strawberries out of season) and then devour them as much as possible.

Oh and I had an English muffin with some PB and banana. Mmmm I love me some gooey melty peanut butter.

After breakfast, it was still miserable outside so we decided to get busy in the kitchen. CK’s mom made the most glorious looking blueberry pie for tonight and I made hummus.

I recently “came-out” to CK’s mom about my ever-increasing dairy intolerances so she decided to take advantage of the opportunity and have me show her how to make hummus.

Don’t ask me how these two are related, but I’m never one to turn down hummus so I hopped to it.

Confession, I’ve never actually made hummus before, but I’ve seen enough recipes on the blogosphere and I’m certainly familiar enough with the taste that I figured I could “wing-it”.  So wing it I did and I think the result was pretty good.

We busted out the blender and I got busy.

1 can of chickpea’s well rinsed and drained

1/3 to ½ c. olive oil

1 large clove of garlic finely chopped

1 tbsp fresh parsley

1 tbsp lemon juice

½ to 1 tsp garlic powder

Salt and Pepper to taste

First add in your chickpeas to the blender to finely chop them

Toss in your garlic, parsley and lemon juice and give it another few whirls

Next start adding in your oil until it’s all well blended and smooth

Taste and adjust seasonings with garlic powder, salt and pepper

Without the tahini it was much milder tasting but still pretty tasty, the parsley gave it a li’l somethin somethin.

By the time the boys came home from golf we were just beginning to enjoy this and they decided to join in the fun. Yet again another success from CK’s father with my “rabbit food” 🙂

Dinner tonight was un pictured so I won’t go into details, but dessert was the headline act anyway.

Seriously how awesome does this blueberry pie look?

Well, it tasted even better! The secret is all in the crust! The recipe is from CK’s grandmother and features orange juice instead of water.  Maybe if you’re all nice to me, I’ll one day post the recipe 😉

We just finished watching The World is Not Enough, an oldie, but a James Bond movie is always good in my books.  Oh Pierce Brosnan you were dreamy in the 90s. Now, I’m off to enjoy my book.  I’ve jumped on the bandwagon and I’m currently enjoying Eat.Pray.Love.

Oh and one quick announcement before I go: I have finally set up the MTL Veggie Recipe page on here.  I’ve posted all my yummy recipes featuring: my favorite smoothies like the Banana BlueBell, my black bean and corn enchiladas, jambalaya and so much more- I hope you enjoy it!

Now, I’m off to bury my nose in a book and get some sleep.

Bonne Nuit!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…

  1. Never will many people ever understand why running a half marathon is fun either! 🙂 I don’t get the golf thing though, I will admit.

    Your hummus looks really good – it seriously is one of the easiest things EVER to make!!!

  2. Tess says:

    Wow, OJ instead of water… brilliant! How are you enjoying the book so far?

  3. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

