Headin’ West

Hey Guys,

Sorry this is going to once again be short and sweet, but only because I have an 8am flight tomorrow so I need to get to bed soon!

I’m heading out to Grande Cache, AB which is a small former mining town located in the North Western region of Alberta and is the home of the Canadian Death Race, an ultra marathon of 125km.  Some people run it solo, some people run in teams, all of the people entered into this race are, in my opinion, crazy!

The North Face (the company I work for) are the title sponsors of this event, so I’ll be a busy little bee setting up our area and overseeing some of our athletes that will be competing in this event, oh and setting up our camping village- yes that’s right, we’ll be camping out for this event! I haven’t been camping in years, so I’m actually pretty excited!

As a runner, I’m very excited to be on the organizing end of this race. However, I’m not very excited with the amount of crap stuff I have to bring:

Air Canada is NOT going to be happy with me tomorrow! Believe it or not, only a portion of the smaller duffel bag actually houses my clothes- the rest of the stuff are samples, prizing, a banner and other promo materials that we didn’t get in time to ship out before the event.  Sorry if I’m de-glamourizing event planning for some of you hehe

Before I came home and packed up a storm, I met up with Amy for a li’l sushi action. I haven’t had sushi in over 4 months, clearly I was due.  However, in our excitment, Amy and I must’ve eaten our body weight in sushi and tempura:

Fried Tofu

Stir-fry udon- this was sooo good!

veggie tempura

Sushi! I had veggie rolls, avocado, cucumber and tofu makis

By the time I got home, I was really in no mood to pack but I sucked it up and even packed myself some delightful snacks!

dried fruit, granola, and some nuts

Not too bad for a full stomach endeavour 😉

I can’t guarantee the blog will be my priority from Thursday to Monday while I’m at the event, but if  you’re interested in learning more about the Death Race I’ll be tweeting live from the event @TheNorthFace, or you can follow it on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/thenorthface

Well, I’ve eaten, packed, blogged, reserved my taxi, now all that’s left to do is sleep!

Question: Would you ever compete in an ultra marathon as a soloist or in a team? Have you ever ran an ultra?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Headin’ West

  1. chelsey says:

    omgoodness – an ultra is CRAZY!! I don’t think I would ever have the desire to run one! Have fun though!

Leave a Reply

