S-s-s-summertiiiime!

If I could sing at all, I would be singing that until the cows came home, well that is if we owned cows.

But nothing says summer like some good BBQ action, of which I am a huge fan.  I just love the smoky smell, the social element to it, and the fact that grilled vegetables totally rock my world.

Tonight the boy and I decided to get our BBQ on, which also means it’s a total break for me from cooking.  The boy insists he can grill better than I can, yet I still have to coach him through from time to time 😉 No wait, he’s telling me he’s better because he always remembers to turn the propane tank off. Well he’s got me there.

Anywho, I got home and I got to prepping (the boy had yet to make his way home from work, and he only did once the veggies were prepped and the dishes that were dirtied from the prep were cleaned, mystery I tell you).

On the menu tonight was steak for him and grilled bello’s for me.

Clearly this called for a little marinade action:

2 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 tsp dijon mustard

Pinch of sea salt

Dash of pepper

Dash of basil

This is one of the best marinades I’ve made to date! Try it- you will not be disappointed 🙂

Marinating:

I had a sweet potato on hand and thought tonight was the perfect night for grill experimentation.

1 Tbsp of olive oil and few dashes of this guy:

Good to grill 😉

I also made a salad, but he wasn’t the star of this show.

Oh hello dear sweet cocktail, how did you get over there 😉

Yes, I have Bacardi branded glasses- aren’t they cute? I still have a few of these leftover from the Pig Roast and decided to indulge myself, tastes like an orange creamsicle- dangerous!

When the boy got home he popped it  all on the grill, the Portobello’s take approximately 5 minutes, and the taters take 10-15 minutes (5-7 min per side), make sure they are tender.

While the boy was being all manly and grilling I decided to showcase our, er lovely, backyard for you

No, that’s not the amazon

See- there’s some brick to prove it

For some reason I like this shot?

Me trying to be artsy…. And failing

After the boy finished being manly, I topped my portobellos with half an avocado and had some chili sauce with my sweet taters.

Oh and can’t forget the salad topped with left over marinade.

To be honest, I only ate one bello and half my fries, but both rocked! The boy especially liked the bello’s and devoured one with his steak 🙂

He must’ve really liked it because he even did the dishes afterwards!

Well I’m off to enjoy the rest of my night, à demain!

What’s your favourite food to grill?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S-s-s-summertiiiime!

  1. Chelsey says:

    That looks sooo good – and don’t worry, I try to be artsy all the time, but epicly fail every single time.

    I looove grilling veggies, espcially potatoes and mushrooms – just like your dinner!

  2. Tess says:

    Peppers! Omg, grilled red peppers are like CANDY for me. And actually, grilled garlic is pretty awesome too. Just pop a whole clove in some tin foil, throw it on the BBQ with your meat (or whatever), and by the time the meat is done the garlic is easy to peel, warm, and gooey! Tastes great on salad, steak, and probably your portabello’s too!

  3. Susan says:

    Oooh, I’m going to a bbq on Saturday and this post got me all excited!! Grilled and marinated portabellos sound spectacular! My favourite, is (of course) my dad’s hamburgers. Although, the buns MUST be toasted on the bbq. It’s just not the same when they’re toasted any other way.

Leave a Reply

