Spunky Spaghetti Sauce

Hello!

Anyone there? It’s me, that crazy vegetarian living up in la Belle Ville otherwise known as Montréal.  I know I’ve left you all hanging for quite some time.  And while I’ve missed you all dearly, it has been a necessary separation, hard, but necessary.  I unfortunately have been from suffering mysterious stomach problems where, for most of the weekend and up until last night, all I was able to consume was this:

Since that was pretty much all I was eating, I felt I should spare you the mundane and repetitious and just reappear once I had something good to report to you all. Oh do I ever something good to report to you all. But we’ll work up to that.

As I was passing the day at work with my usual fun tasks I got to thinking over what I wanted to make for dinner tonight.

Hey, when all you’ve been able to consume for 4 days is nothing but toas,t you’re gonna be thinking about all the different, yummy, non-bread foods you can consume, too!

However, I was completely stumped.  The boy had roller hockey tonight so clearly he needed a good hearty dinner, but not too hearty that he’d be puking on the side of the rink.  So I got myself over to dear Angela’s blog and came across this li’l gem.

However, I happen to have one the best spaghetti sauces in the 5-1-4 (have I ever mentioned how modest I am?) so I figured I’d put that into play instead of going for the bottled stuff. Oh and the best part? It takes about 10 minutes to make. Sweet! No, savoury 😉 I am in total dork-mode tonight, so please forgive me.

Jess’s Spunky Spaghetti Sauce

1 can diced tomatoes (or 2 c. freshly diced tomatoes)

1 can tomato sauce

1 tbsp olive oil

½ white onion diced

2 tsp garlic

1 tbsp basil

1 tsp oregano

¼ tsp red pepper flakes

¼ tsp sea salt

1/8 tsp pepper

½ tsp balsamic vinegar

Directions:

Heat Olive oil in large sauce pan over medium heat.  Add in onion and sauté until softened about 2 minutes.  Add in garlic and stir for another 30 seconds then add in the rest of the spices except for the balsamic vinegar.  Stir to combine the spices and onions then add in your tomatoes, sauce and vinegar.  Let simmer 10-15 minutes or longer if you have time.

While your sauce is simmering away this is the perfect time to make your salad:

Oh Romaine lettuce, how I love thee! You were my first lettuce love and will always “romaine” as such. Haha.  Ok, lame.

Once your sauce is all simmered and happy, you have a couple of options: you can leave it chunky or you can smooth it out.   Some may decided to pop the sauce into a blender and give ‘er a whirl.  I prefer to take the less-dishes-way-out and bust out this guy:

I don’t use this guy very often, but he’s awesome for creating all kinds of smooth soups and sauces.  He’s more of a fall accessory.

Once my sauce was blended, I kept it over a low heat to keep warm.  Meanwhile I decied to add some “neat”-ness to the sauce and popped in a can of green lentils for a boost in protein and fiber- score!  Looks delish no?

By this time the boy had magically appeared (he has a talent for only showing up once dinner is actually ready).  Good thing I had put the water on for pasta and it was nearly ready by this time.

All served up with some vegan parm cheeze:

No pasta dish has ever tasted so amazing.  Guess that’s what happens when you go on the toast diet for 4 days.

Well that’s it for me tonight.

What’s your fav thing to make after you’ve gotten over being sick?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spunky Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

