Bowl of Beauty

Hey Guys!

Happy Thursday! One more day to go and then it’s the fav day of the week for all 9-5ers and students alike: FRIDAY! Well, unless you’re like me and have a preference for Sundays then you’ve got 3 days to wait, but Fridays are good in my books too!

But today was Thursday, so we’ll talk Thursday.

I decided not to go for my 4th Bikram class in a row but not because I didn’t want to or didn’t feel like it.  I’m actually loving the fact that I’m back to doing something active again, and social for that matter- I’m meeting the nicest girls there!

**Ankle Update** Bikram has actually HELPED the healing process and it’s getting stronger each and every day***

However the boy is embarking on a male ritual (read: golf tournament) this weekend so I figured I’d skip yoga, stay home and cook us a nice dinner and then let him take me out for ice cream- aren’t I the nicest girlfriend? Muahaha

But before we get to the dins, let me just say, for the first time this week, I did NOT eat a bowl of cereal for breakfast! I know, shock!

Behold my Banana-in-a-Blanket!

1 6 inch ‘tilla

1 banana

1-2 tbsp peanut butter

Schmeare of Raspberry jam

Lay out the tilla, spread on some pb & j joy

Pop on your nanner and roll er up and you’ve got yourself a portable breakfast on the go! Well actually I ported this over to my desk to catch up on your blogs, but I could’ve easily eaten this in my car on the way to work which means I may do so soon.

Lunch was leftovers of this:

But I also dropped in a heaping spoonful of yummy creamy hummus. Oh yeah!

And then I may or may not have licked the spoon… while sitting at my desk… classy!

Let me just say, the dill dressing got even better when it got a chance to mix n mingle in my fridge over night.  Add some vinegar or some more lemon juice and you may convince yourself that you’re eating dill pickle chips. Hmm note to self, make potato salad with this dressing stat!

Dinner tonight as I mentioned was made with the boy in mind and my boy LOVES rice! So, I decided to kick in a little creativity, took some inspiration from the ever lovely and culinary genius, Angela, and put a spin on her brown rice n chick peas with sweet n sour sauce!

And by creativity I mean I decided to pull a Martha Stewart on you all and make my own sweet n sour sauce- c’est très simple, I promise you! I found a few recipes online and came up with this one:

½ c. organic cane sugar (care of Bulk Barn– score!)

¼ c. cider vinegar

¼ c pineapple juice (I just used the juice from a can of unsweetened pineapples)

2 Tbsp tamari

2 Tbsp corn starch

¼ c. water

Combine all ingredients in small sauce pan and bring to a boil, simmer gently for 5 minutes and remove from heat and serve, or store in fridge and serve cold. Feel free to add some food colouring if you want to go the take-out Chinese food route for the reddish/orange stuff.   I decided to keeping things au naturel since I went to all the trouble to make it from scratch.  It ended up looking almost like plum sauce!

For the rice dish I used:

1 c. brown and wild rice blend (again, Bulk Barn)

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 can of chick peas rinsed and drained

2 Portobello mushrooms, sliced

½ a zucchini, diced

Pinch of red pepper flakes

¼ cup pineapple chunks (optional)

Prepare rice according to directions set aside and keep warm.

Meanwhile, I heated the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat and added the zucchini and sautéed for a couple minutes until tender-crisp then added in my Portobello’s and cooked them for about another 3-5 minutes.  Add in pineapple chunks if using and stir well to combine, remove from heat. I topped this mixture with a dash of red-pepper flakes to add some heat to the sweet n sour action.

Then take your rice and build your bowl:

First, the boy LOVED this dish- he kept going on about how much he loved the flavours, so yours truly earned mega bonus points there.  I really enjoyed this dish as well; the heartiness of the rice, chickpeas and mushrooms were lightened up with the zucchini and pineapple giving it a summer flare and the sauce balanced it out really nicely.  Next time I make this sauce though, I’m going to start with ¼ c. of sugar and go from there as it was just a tad too sweet for my liking (I’m definitely more of a savoury foods kinda gal).  I ended up adding about 2 more tbsp of vinegar to balance things out a bit more.  But I’m very glad I decided to make this sauce and avoid all the extra unnecessary additives.

Well, the boy is about to go mowe the lawn then I’ll see if I can’t drag him to ice cream!

Have a good night!

Question: What are your thoughts/feelings on bottled dressings and sauces? Do you buy them often or do you prefer to make your own when possible?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bowl of Beauty

  1. chelsey says:

    I tend to use bottled salad dressing, but for different suaces/marinades, I make my own!

Leave a Reply

