Black Bean and Corn Enchilada’s

Hey Everyone,

How were your Tuesday’s? Mine was your typical work day but also involved a lot of this:

source

I drank nearly 3 Litres of water in preparation for my hot yoga class today, I don’t even want to tell you how many bathroom trips I made today.  In case you were wondering, YES- I was sore today- my hips feel like they were pulled out and then put back together again.  Aside from that, just a typical work day.

I started the day off with a plain ol’ bowl of cereal with blueberries.

I think one morning I’m just gonna shock your foodie socks off with a rockin breakfast, but not this week- I’ve got double duties of dinner planning with evening hot yoga as it is!

I really wish I’d planned this week out better when I decided to test out Hot Yoga.  Unfortunately, my studio does not offer early morning classes so I’m stuck with 6:30pm classes and the 8:15pm class that’s offered on Monday/Wednesday.  If I decide to make this a permanent part of my exercise routine, better meal-planning will need to be considered.

As it stands, I decided to make enchiladas for tonight, but not just any enchiladas: Black Bean and Corn enchiladas

Are you drooling yet?

To help in my mad-dash pre-yoga dinner prep, I made the sauce last night; simple and delicious (2 of my favourite words when it comes to food).

Easy Enchilada Sauce:

–          1 8oz can of plan ol’ tomato sauce (try to find one with low or no added sugar)

–          ½ White onion chopped (doesn’t need to be pretty, it’s just for flavouring)

–          1 tbsp chilli powder

–          1 tbsp cumin (I really love the smoky flavour of cumin, if  you’re not a huge fan you can reduce it to 1 tsp)

–          1 tsp garlic (1-2 cloves) minced

–          1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

In medium saucepan, heat oil over medium heat and sauté onion until fragrant and softened. Add garlic and spices, stir for another 30 seconds to a minute. Add in tomato sauce and let simmer for 10-15 minutes for flavours to mix n mingle.  Remove from heat let cool slightly.

Strain sauce into medium sized bowl; be sure to get all that sauce out of the onions.  Toss onions and set sauce aside.

So when pre-yoga dinner prep pounced, I put the rest of the enchiladas together:

Enchiladas

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 341 ml can corn, rinsed and drained (you could of course use fresh or frozen, about 1 c.)

1 small  c. zucchini diced

¼ c. cilantro, finely chopped

S + P to tasted

7 6-inch corn or flour tortillas

Sliced jalapeno, optional

1 c. grated cheddar cheese

In a large mixing bowl combine beans, corn and zucchini along with ½ c. sauce, cilantro and s+p.

FYI you WILL have leftovers of this mixture, so if you’re into it, I’d reduce everything by half.

Haul out the ‘tillas. If they’re a bit stiff, pop them in the microwave for 10-15 seconds to soften them up- works like a charm 😉

Stuff each tilla with about ¼ c. filling, roll tightly and place seam side down in a lightly greased (small) baking dish.

Top dish with the remaining  sauce and cheddar cheese, cover with tin foil.

Note the note of instructions I left for the boy so he could eat before 8:30 😉

Preheat oven to 400 and bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove foil and bake an additional 5 minutes to allow cheese to get a little browned and yummy on top.

The boy clearly enjoyed this, and cooked it perfectly!

I served mine with the left over bean, corn and zucchini mixture, and salsa

FYI- I plan on converting the rest of the leftover bean, corn and zucchini salad into a funky salsa with added jalapenos and tomatoes, wholeheartedly suggest you do the same!

Oh and bonus- look what I came home to:

That boy certainly knows how to make me happy.  Sometime it’s just the small things that count 🙂

I’m off to shower away the 90 minutes of sweating!

What are the small things that make you happy?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Bean and Corn Enchilada’s

  1. Chelsey says:

    ooo I looove things like that!! I love it when FH brushes the snow off my car in the winter time. It is the best morning surprise ever!! 🙂

    I am drooling about those enchiladas by the way.

Leave a Reply

