The Tail of Anne

Good Morning!

I know you just can’t wait to see pics of my first pig roast experience so I’ll just get right to it!

Unfortunately, the spit had broken by the time Amy and I rolled in, so this is the view we got:

But sometimes you just gotta roll with the punches and have a drink:

Amy- with her delightful Pink Grapefruit breezer!

About an hour after our arrival Anne, the pig, was deemed ready:

How did she get her name Anne, you ask? Well the legend goes: the night before the Pig Roast, the heat was unbearable and our Pig Roasters were not interested in serving their friends and family sun-dried pork, if ya catch my drift.  So our entrepreneurial Pig Roasters did what any other entrepreneurial Pig Roaster would do- seek refrigeration!  After much seeking and even further rejection, they stumbled upon a dépaneur (that’s Quebecor for convenient store) and whose cashier (named Anne) was more than willing to accommodate their pig for the evening.  She was even gracious enough to stumble back to the Dep at 5 am to open the door for them to retrieve it.  For as she put it “I’ll only be heading home from the bar at 4:30am anyway, what’s another 30 minutes”.  What’s another 30 minutes indeed?  Our entrepreneurial Pig Roasters were so overjoyed that they promptly Christened their pig “Anne” and so our story continues.

Our Pig Roasters began spreading Anne out for all her –er glory. Please note, at this point, the stench smell of the roasted meat really began to get to me.  I was told by those around me (meat-eaters) that it was honest to goodness a delicious smell.  I stopped breathing through my nose whilst in near proximity to Anne.

But look- Veggie food!

The boy was put to work quickly, assembling salads. I’m told he does this every Pig Roast- how sweet! He even made some salads without bacon, just for me! Yes, he is a keeper that boy of mine!

While the boy was prepping the salads, our Roasters were busily taking Anne apart bit by bit- they were quite economical about this actually- not one piece of meat went to waste.  I still was not breathing through my nose.

Then the cow bell was rung to announce dinner (well not really, but I feel in such instances, Cow Bell’s should be required, maybe I can put in a request for next Pig Roast?)

Veggie Plate

Salad with Vidalia onion dressing, veggies and potato salad

Amy with her non-veggie plate. She assured me it was good, I didn’t believe her.

After dinner, walking soccer, baseball, and beach volleyball were enjoyed by all.

Well maybe some enjoyed the beach volleyball a bit more than others…

Not long after the boy and I made our journey back to the land of veggies, where the grass may be less green but the air doesn’t smell like roasted pig.

My kinda place 😉

I’m off to run errands for the day and plan my meals for the week.  Talk to you all tonight!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tail of Anne

  1. Chelsey says:

    That sounds like fun! I’m glad they had some veggie food for you. That’s always so nice not to have to worry about being starving when everyone else’s bellies are full!

    • mtlveggie says:

      Tell me about it! I’m the only “veggie” of the bunch around here so it doesn’t always work out like it did yesterday 🙂 Luckily salads are usually synonymous with bbq’s!

Leave a Reply

