On My Own

No, I will not be quoting Les Mis tonight, but that was the theme for my day- on my own.  The boy had a golf tournament up north so I got to have the house to myself allll day long! And bonus, since I cleaned the house yesterday, I could just be a lazy bum and have a good ol’ loafing day!

Well for me that is… if you were to force me to sit around in my pj’s all day long when it’s warm and sunny outside, I would wholeheartedly resent you the way a dog does when you leave him alone all day long.  Loafing for me usually involves some form of grocery shopping, yes I am a freak but hey, I’m cool with it.

Anywho, I started my shopping expedition over at Bulk Barn.  This was my first time going to a Bulk Barn- ever! I didn’t even visit one while I lived in Ontario and I’m seriously kicking myself over the fact that I’ve never been before.   To be fair, my perceptions of bulk food stores in general were that it was just for unhealthy foods like candy and processed chocolate, oh how wrong I was!

I easily could’ve dropped a bundle here, but I was a good girl and limited my choices to ones that I actually needed: cashews, almond milk (they had it on special), Italian seasoning and cane sugar.

I can say this though, ClubHouse, you got nothin’ on Bulk Barn! I couldn’t believe how many different types of spices they had, and since my mama has begun buying me sweet li’l spice jars from Ikea for birthdays and Christmas I’ll be making use of their variety in months to come.

I also bought myself a sweet li’l snack of mixed dried fruit.  This had apples, peaches, apricots and prunes.  I served this up with some oka cheese as a li’l cheese plate. All that was missing was the wine, but I decided to be a good girl and opted for water instead 😉

The rest of my grocery shopping consisted of me meandering through the produce section and aisles of the grocery store for a good hour before I finally went up to the cash to pay.  My one new discovery were Pluots.  I thought for a second this was a French translation for Plum (it’s not, in french they’re simply called “prunes”). Anyway, according to wikipedia, a Pluot is a hybrid between a plum and apricot- who knew?

Pretty groceries, the pluots are on top of the bread

I also discovered that Sunday afternoon grocery shopping is far less hectic than Saturday morning or evening weekday evening grocery shopping! It was way less packed both in the store and in the parking lot, so my stress level stayed at a happy low all day long!

I didn’t eat much in the way of set meals today. I had a big pile of veggies at lunch time followed by had my li’l cheese plate mid-afternoon, and then some toast with pb & honey followed suit.  By the time dinner hour rolled around, I wasn’t what you would call “ravenous” so I decided to have a big fresh salad of lettuce, tomato, green pepper, cucumber and avocado topped with my apple Dijon dressing.

I know, I know, boooorring, but I was just in no mood to do any “real” cooking.  Even enthusiastic cooks need days off now and then 😉

I also had one of my Pluots.  It was okay, I think I prefer plain old plums, as it wasn’t quite as sweet, but I still enjoyed it.

All in all, pretty satisfying lazy Sunday.  Now I’m ready to take on the week!

What’s your fav way to pass a Sunday?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Own

  1. Chelsey says:

    Your food was so not boring today – that is my kind of day! Looove the salad with the avocado on top. That is one of my favorites! I love lounging around with FH, going grocery shopping (like you!) or running errands!

  2. Tess says:

    Oooh pluots sound interesting! My favourite thing to do on a Sunday, when I can, is to go out for a walk and a picnic. Although, early Sunday morning hot yoga is quickly becoming a favourite activity as well.

Leave a Reply

