The Verdict is….. To Plan!

Hey hey!

Can you believe it’s Friday? The week has literally flown by for me! I’ve had a superbly productive work week and an enjoyable cooking week, well except for today anyway.

To be quite honest with you guys, today’s eats were kind of lame.

Breakfast was on repeat third morning in a row:

Lunch was a bit of this:

A Koka Moka Pro Bar appeared sometime mid afternoon.

And dinner, well dinner was actually *gasp* not homemade! 2 Friday’s in a row now, what’s happening to me?!

It all started when I ended up meeting my friend Mark for a pint after work.  I called the boy on my way home to see what he wanted for dinner and he suggested “Amir”, a fast-food Lebanese MTL staple for those of you living outside the 5-1-4 😉

He got his usual shish taouk and I got a lovely Falafel sandwich with an artichoke salad.  I MAY have devoured this before any pics were taken-sorry! To be fair, the boy and I really don’t eat fast food all that often and so I don’t really feel all that guilty over this meal.  For once, I really was not in the mood to cook? I know, I found it weird too.

Since today’s eats are probably putting you to sleep, I thought I’d recap my thoughts on Meal Planning Week.

I started out this challenge to see if I could successfully plan and execute healthy meals for this week with only 1 trip to the grocery store, both for budget and waste reasons.

On Sunday I planned all my meals and on Monday I purchased the groceries I would need for the meals for the week.

Did I achieve my goal? Yes, I did. Other than tonight’s dinner, no additional money was spent on food for this week’s meals.  My one change I would make to this for future MPW’s (I hope to make this a habit and will be repeating it next week), is in the fruit and lettuce department.  The boy and I consume a lot of fruit for just 2 people; we use it for our breakfasts, and also for our day time snacks and sometimes after work/dinner snacks so we ran out by Thursday!  As for the lettuce, well lettuce won’t necessarily last in this house for 1 week, and if it does- it’s not at its freshest- spinach in particular.  So for these 2 items I may propose to buy a bit less of these items at the beginning of the week and then to refresh mid week either Wednesday or Thursday.

Overall, I really enjoyed Meal Planning Week far more than I thought I would.  One thing I soon realized was how less stressful planning your meals ahead of time are. I was no longer rushing to the grocery store every day after work debating over what to make, trying to remember what I still had at home that I could use.  Instead, I was leaving work when I was ready to with the satisfactory realization of knowing what I was making for dinner and having the ingredients on hand to make it. How cool is that?

And finally, the most important part was the $$$ savings! I honestly do not think I have ever spent so little on groceries since the boy and I moved in together.  This was a huge bonus and definitely made me realize how much money I was wasting spending on groceries on a weekly basis.

Meal planning is definitely going to become a regular part of our life here in MTL.  The only change will be to do the list making on either Saturday evening/ Sunday morning and the grocery shopping taking place for the week on Sunday and the fruit and lettuce refresh on Wednesday or Thursday.

If you don’t already meal plan and are thinking of trying it out, I honestly encourage you to try it out for one week to see how you like it.  There is a lot more flexibility to it than I originally thought and you may just surprise yourself and how much you enjoy it!

Well that covers my recap on MPW and in case you were wondering, yes I still have plenty of food left for tomorrow!

What did you think of my MPW? Is it something you would try out for yourself?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

