Sweet Home Potato Salad

Whenever I think of home and summer, a few things come to mind: our fabulous pool that would be amazing to have right now, instead we have this:

Broken pool with a shredded liner 😦

And always, always, my Mama’s potato salad.

As I’ve hinted in the past, Mama is a fabulous cook.  It’s been a long standing joke that the only reason why my boyfriends ever stick around for as long they as did is because of her cooking.  Not that they didn’t like mine, but she’ll serve them meat.  Woman knows how to play dirty 😉

Anyway, for as long as I can remember, every summer my Mama will make potato salad and it’s always gooooood! But, it also includes items such as full Miracle Whip dressing.  So rather than try and mimic hers, I’d see if I couldn’t come up with a lighter variation that still had that down home comfort food appeal but didn’t make you feel as though you were 4 months preggers.

So last night while trying to fall asleep, I decided to make my own version of Mama’s Potato Salad.

This morning as I was getting ready for work I prepped my potates.  This is a tip from Mama- cut your potates up into equal quarters into a large sauce pan.  Fill your pot with water, cover and bring to a boil.  As soon as the water starts boiling shut off your element, keep the lid on and head off to work.  When you come home you’ll have miraculously cooked (but not overcooked) potatoes!

I diced these babies up and sautéed them in 1 tbsp of olive oil and then tossed in 1 small (or ½ large) shallot finely chopped and 1 tsp garlic.  I also added in the remaining sweet potatoes from last night:

Once these were well heated through and nicely flavour coated I removed them from the heat and shoved 1 diced yellow zucchini sprayed lightly with oil into a 350 degree oven to roast them up.

While my zucchinis were roasting and my potates were chillin in their juices, I chopped up a green pepper for some added crunch and got to making the dressing.

I still wanted it to have a creamy texture with a bit of summer zing.  So I thought I brought out the these guys:

Dijon mustard, apple cider vinegar, olive oil, maple syrup; as I read this, this almost has a fall look to it, but it was summery in my mind, so just humor me on this- you won’t be disappointed.

After my zucchinis were roasted and my potates all mellowed out, I combined them, along with the pepper in a bowl and then tossed in the dressing.  I then shoved it into the fridge for half an hour to chill out and mix n mingle.

After all was said and done, I poured a few spoonfuls onto a bed of spinach and enjoyed one summers great li’l pleasures.  I think Mama would be proud 🙂

Here’s the full recipe:

Sweet Home Potato Salad

You will need:

6 medium potatoes, quartered (I used regular white, but you could use new potatoes or even sweet potatoes)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small shallot finely diced

1 tsp garlic

2-3 pinches paprika

Pinch of sea salt

1 medium yellow zucchini, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

Dressing:

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp cider vinegar

¼ c. olive oil

½ tsp maple syrup

For dressing, whisk all ingredients together, adjust to taste and set aside

Directions:

–          Bring potatoes to boil, cook until just tender, drain and let cool.  Once cool dice into smaller, equal bite-sized pieces

–          In medium sauce pan heat oil over medium heat, add potatoes, sauté until heated through, lower heat to medium-low, add shallot, garlic and paprika, stir occasionally

–          Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 and place diced zucchini on baking sheet, spray lightly with cooking oil, roast for 20 minutes or until tender and lightly browned

–          Once zucchini and potatoes are done cooking, combine them in a medium mixing bowl, add in green pepper

–          Add dressing, refrigerate for minimum 30 minutes up to 2 hours

–          Serve over baby spinach or greens of your choice

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with this recipe and once again, in fitting with MPW, I had all the ingredients on hand and still have some veggies left over for tomorrow.  Hmm… I STILL haven’t used those lentils this week, we’ll have to see if they don’t come into play tomorrow night 🙂

What are your fav childhood summer recipes that you enjoy remaking?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

