I’d like to introduce you to… my Wife!

Hey Hey!

Sorry about the lame post last night, was really tired and my bed was calling my name too loudly.  But let’s recap how I got there shall we?

Day 2 of Meal Planning Week (now to be known as MPW) was kicked off right with a page out of Kath’s book:

SIAB

I decided to add some panache to my Banana Blue Bell Smoothie by ceremoniously dumping the contents of my blender into a pretty bowl and topped ‘er up with some Special K Vanilla Almond cereal and fresh blueberries.

Smoothie mix:

1 nanner

1 c. Vanilla Soy Milk (this was a compromise between me and the boy- he doesn’t like Almond Milk, I refuse to eat cow’s milk, next week however, is Almond Milk)

1/3 c. blueberries

1 massive handful of spinach

1 tbsp chia seeds

The banana wasn’t frozen this time around and I think I prefer it when it is, makes the smoothie colder and that much more delicious!  Overall, I’m diggin the SIAB, I felt like I was eating really thick cereal 😉

Lunch was my quarter half of the leftovers of the jambalaya and delectable salad numero dos from my awesome frisee.  So far, so good!

After lunch though, is where it really all went downhill.  There I was sitting at a desk, I haven’t run in 10 days, nor done any exercise for that matter and starting to go a bit stir crazy -like ready to climb the walls if my stupid ankle would allow it crazy.

What’s the cure to craziness? Girl-time!  Blogworld as I mentioned, I had a very good friend come over for wining and dining last night, and so it’s time I introduced someone very near and dear to my heart, no, not the boy, my wifey!

she's a li'l shy 😉

Meet Karo, my “wife” and bestie for nearly 7 years now! We met literally on the 2nd day of Uni and have been tight ever since.  We even go way back to where my grandparents’ cottage was unknowingly on the same street as her first house- true story! If you’re curious as to how she became my “wife”, we tell everyone we eloped in Vegas a couple years ago at an Elvis Chapel, but that’s another story for another time 😉

Since the boy has abandoned me in favour of a work dinner meeting at Sahib (traitor), Karo came over to keep me company- isn’t she sweet? Yes, I thought so too!

I decided to keep with my meal plan (being such the good girl that I am) with one addition: White Wine! Normally, Karo and I opt for red, but with this scorching heat, I wanted cold wine, not room temp wine!

Today’s Dinner Menu was:

Bean Burgers + Sweet Potato “Fries”

Salad

And an appetizer of toasted pita breads with Hummus to start- sorry no pics of this!

The bean burgers are superbly easy to make, but they pack a lot of flavor!

You will need:

–          1 small onion finely chopped

–          T tsp olive oil

–          1 tbsp cider vinegar

–          1 can (19 oz) of pinto beans, drained and rinsed

–          ¼ c whole wheat flour

–          1 tsp minced garlic

Heat oil over med low heat, add onions and cook till softened, lower heat, stirring occasionally and cooking until they caramelize (25-30min)

(While onions are caramelizing this is the perfect time to prepare your salad and sweet potato “fries”)

After onions are nicely caramelized, add in cider vinegar and garlic, cook another 5 minutes to allow flavours to mingle.

In a medium mixing bowl add beans, onion mixture and flour stir till well combine and then mash- by hand or I used a potato masher last night- worked pretty well! Then form into 4-5 patties depending on how big you like them.

In a big skillet, lightly spray with cooking oil and heat over medium heat.  Cook patties 2-3 min per side or until nicely browned and a bit crispy.  You could also bake @ 350 F for 20 min, flipping halfway through if you wanted.

Sweet Potato Fries are painfully easy:

Preheat oven to 400. Slice a sweet potato into thin rounds, spray both sides lightly with Pam season with your seasoning of choice, I used garam masala last night. Bake for 20-25 until desired crispness- no need to flip halfway through.

Serve your kick ass meal with an awesome salad.

So that was my Tuesday, but it’s now Wednesday and I gotta get to work.

What’s your “Go-To” meal to make for week-night guests?

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’d like to introduce you to… my Wife!

  1. karo says:

    awwwww wifey!

  2. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

