All About Me

Hello!

As I type this I am currently stuffing my face with the most amazing salad known to veggie-kind. But more on that in a bit.

After waking up a bit late this morning, due to last night’s shenanigans, I decided to keep it quick and simple with a bowl of  Special K Vanilla Almond cereal topped with fresh blueberries and banana slices and some vanilla soy milk.

Not a bad start to my day, if I do say so myself.  This kept me well full until 10am when I devoured a big juicy kiwi- sorry no lunch pics available.

Lunch in question was a bean burger from last night along with a big salad.  For a snack I devoured the lovely Naan bread care of the boy from last night and some hummus.  All in all, pretty kick-ass lunching if I do say so.

But, let’s be honest, you don’t care about the lame leftover lunch I had, you’re probably scratching your head over what this amazing meal I made for dinner, right? Yeah, right. But I’ll tell you anyway 😉

Tonight I had planned for us to have lentil salad, but the boy is playing ball hockey tonight and wasn’t going to be home between after work and then so I decided to make this dinner all about me and my personal tastes.  The boy isn’t big on meal sized salads for dinner, so bonus for me.

Now don’t get me wrong, lentil salad sounded really good, but I figured I’d save it for tomorrow or Friday night instead.  One thing I am definitely learning is that even though I planned out my meals, there is still a bit of flexibility to it.  I still have a ton of lettuce, plus a ton of veggies, and a sweet potato that was not converted into fries last night, so decided to go to town.

I recently came across a blog entry from Gena about the pairing of sweet potatoes and avocado and figured, since  I had both available to why not have a good ol’ time with something new?

I kicked off the salad extravaganza with one of my current obsessions- caramelized onions.

Then chopped up my sweet-tater:

I sprayed them with some oil and added some garlic and sea salt. I baked them at 400 for 20-25 minutes until crispy.

While these guys were doing their thang I began the base layer:

Frisée lettuce with cucumbers and mushrooms;

Then I decided to add some apple for a li’l extra crunch and sweet-tart goodness

Next came creamy avocado, onions, and potatoes.

I topped this salad of goodness with a simple dressing of 2tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp cider vinegar and a dash of maple syrup.

How amazing dos this look? Honestly best salad I have made in a long time!

For some dessert I had the rest of my apple with some peanut butter for dipping and a piece of dark chocolate.

Overall quite the kickass meal- AND I didn’t stop at the grocery store to make it.

Doesn’t sound like a big deal, but for me, that is saying a lot! This week has really opened my eyes to being more resourceful with what I have available to me to create fun, delicious meals!

What ingredients always get your creative kitchen juices flowing?

I think I’m going to give myself a pedicure.  Have a good night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All About Me

  1. Tess says:

    Nice salad Jess!

Leave a Reply

