The Simple Life

Well my weekend wasn’t quite THAT simple but it was pretty darn close ๐Ÿ˜‰

We arrived mid-day on Friday to perfect weather and perfect company in the form of my lovely parents ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Our cottage has got to be one of my favourite places in the world- it’s so beautiful up there, you really can’t top the scenery:

We couldn’t have asked for better weather for the long weekend, so we decided to take full advantage of it; please allow me to provide you with a li’l slide show to my weekend.ย  No real food pics but I promise to provide a couple of recipes at the end of this post, so read on, if you dare ๐Ÿ˜‰

There was reading in the shade:

I spot a boy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lounging in the sun, admiring the view before us:

Of course we weren’t completely immobile the whole weekend (the boy went for a run at one point, I was very jealous) but we took the time to enjoy ourselves; stopped to smell the flowers if you will ๐Ÿ˜‰

Daisies are one of fav flowers

Or two:

Guess we weren’t alone on that one either:

We took a visit to the fishing hole (they weren’t very interested in biting though)

Watched the ducks by the pond, well they never showed, but it sounds better than saying we watched the pond.

Checked up on our chicken coop, sans chickens

And tried to start a hoe-down in the barn, no one was game for that one though- next time…. (insert evil laugh)

Throughout this weekend of paradise, I even rolled up my sleeves (actually, I was wearing a tank top, but you get the picture) for some household chores, I felt like Cinderalla scrubbing the stones ๐Ÿ˜‰

We even did a bit of entertaining and of course that meant my Mama cooked up an awesome dinner! If there is one thing Mama-bear can do- it’s cook!

Sorry, no real food pics, but imagine a weekend of dinners filled with delicate local asparagus sauteed with olive oil, garlic and balsamic glaze, potatoes created into the most-scrumptious of home fries- lightly spiced of course, fresh spring peas with mushrooms, salads galore and her famous 3-cheese sauce with penne pasta- I swear I’ve gained at least 3 pounds since Friday!

I also did my own contribution by creating a new tofu glaze- this glaze really could be on any lighter meats as well, maybe even on salmon?

I give you the ultra simple and uber-delicious:
Maple Garlic Tofu!

-Take one block of extra firm tofu, sandwich between 2 paper towels and place a heavy object such as a massive cookbook on top of it for a couple of hours to press excess moisture out.ย  I know doing this can sometimes be a pain the you know what, but it really helps with flavour absorption.

While your tofu is pressing away prep your sauce:

– 1/4 c. maple-bbq sauce

– 1 tsp of minced garlic (I used bottled cuz that’s what mama uses)

For the maple-bbq sauce, I used a local product that someone had given us from a local Erabliere (Maple Farm), you can check out their website here

Of course if you don’t have maple syrup bbq sauce (and seriously, why would you?) you can take 1/4 c of your favourite bbq sauce and add 2 tbsp of maple syrup, that should give you the same results.

I let the tofu marinade in the sauce for about an hour before bbq’ing on skewers, and this really helped to maximize the flavour of these babies.

Well thats it for me, we’ve finished up a simple dinner (nothing worth blogging about) and the boy’s gone off to the driving range, so I think I’m gonna chill out with an episode of Gilmore Girls till he gets back and then I think there’s talk of ice cream in the near future ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a good night, and a Happy 4th of July to my American friends ๐Ÿ™‚

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

