Cottage Country Livin

Hey Guys!

Sorry for the lack of a post last night- I ended up heading out into Old Montreal to celebrate with some friends. More on that in a sec as I forgot my camera and so it cannot be proven 😉

Eats yesterday were pretty standard:

Toast with PB and Jam with a peach sliced up:

Lunch was the Cajun Chickpea Cakes stuffed into a pita with spinach, tomato and chili sauce with cucumber slices on the side:

The morning/early afternoon was pretty lame with some chores and laundry getting done.  But at 2:30pm EST the boy landed on to Canadian soil! After picking him up from the airport, he very nearly promptly fell asleep so I decided to head downtown and meet up with some friends 😉

We started at Le Confessional and then made our way over to the rooftop Terrace at The Hotel Place D’armes. For those of you planning a visit to MTL this summer- do yourself a favor and enjoy an evening on a rooftop Terrace in Old Montreal, there really isn’t any better way to experience this beautiful city.  My only regret was I didn’t bring my camera with me for some pics!

After our rooftop drinks we headed over to The Keg (I know, I know, but we knew one of the chefs there so it was way easier to get a table than anywhere else in the Old Port) for dinner.

I ended up having a Spinach Salad with goat’s cheese, cranberries, mandarin oranges, and spicy pecans with a citrus dressing.  Oh my God, this was soooooo good!  I nearly had a foodgasm.  I also had a side of their Chipotle Mac N Cheese- this was okay,  I was hoping for the flavour to be smokier but it was still pretty good. Again wish I could’ve taken pics for you guys but you’ll just have to trust me ;).  My drink of choice was their lychee martini, always a favourite of mine.

As you can imagine, it was pretty late when I got in and the boy was fast asleep so I didn’t want to wake him up with a late night posting.

Now, I’m about to hop in the shower and pack my bags- we’re headed up to my parents cottage for the weekend in the Eastern Townships.  No internet access up there, but I promise an awesome posting come Sunday.

Hope you all have a fabulous long weekend!

-Jess

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

