Canada Day Eve

Most likely half of the city is out celebrating the eve of our nations birthday.  I, on the other hand, am doing this:

Oh yeah, party like a rock-star.  Have I said how much I detest having sprained ankle? I want to desperately put on my running shoes and go for a run 😦

Oh well! Despite my self-pity I had a pretty decent day.

Kicked it off with a decent breakfast:

Compliments Honey Raisin Muesli with Almond Milk topped with Banana and melted peanut butter.  This actually turned out to be an awesome mix- kept me sated till around 10 where I had a juicy peach.

For lunch I had round two of Fiesta Joes with some bread and vegan butter- this was even better the second time around!

I washed it down with some cucumber slices and grape tomatoes.  I am so addicted to these, I could eat a pint to myself no problem.

The rest of the afternoon sped on by and I decided to once again make a fun meal for myself: Cajun Chickpea Cakes.   I spotted these on the Happy Herbivore website a couple weeks ago and they’ve been calling my name ever since.

I followed the recipe almost to a “T” with only 2 exceptions:

– I omitted the liquid smoke, I’ve never bought any

– I substituted the chickpea flour for wholewheat flour

All in all, I thought these were awesome!  Don’t they look delicious?

I served them up with a plate of veggies and olives and then had dijon mustard, chili sauce and bbq sauce for dipping.

In all honesty the chili sauce was my fav codiment for these bad boys.  I really suggest you try out this recipe out- I’ve got some ideas for lunch with these guys tomorrow 🙂

Now, its time for another icing round and then maybe a fun chick flick.

Have an awesome night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

