Veggie Fiesta Joes

Hola!

How was everyone’s Tuesday? I’m so excited because it was basically Thursday for me! With Canada’s b-day happening on the Thursday, my boss was super nice and allowed me to take Friday off too! Thanks boss! 🙂

Breakfast was so-so, I had the Compliments Honey-Raisin muesli again with almond milk, but jazzed it up this time with some blueberries for some sweet tangy freshness!

I also grabbed a nice granny smith apple that’d been hanging out in my purse for a few days (don’t judge) for a mid-morning snack.  I have a habit of placing fruit in my purse in the probable chance I’ll be hungry during my travels, but I don’t always eat it, and since the blueberries in this morning’s cereal was the last of my fruit, I was very happy with my discovery.

Lunch time came quickly- my boss and my coworker are out this week so I’m kinda on my own in the marketing department- it’s amazing how much work you can hammer out when you have few distractions and zero meetings!

For said lunch, I scarfed down the remaining bits of mac and cheeze and the bottom of my barrel of veggies and leftover olives thrown onto a bed of spinach- can ya tell I needed to do some groceries?!

I also grabbed a Larabar for an afternoon snack.  Seriously gonna have to buy more of these when I run out!

When the end of the day rolled around I was debating on whether I wanted to risk the bad ankle with a walk in the grocery store for some must needed supplies.  In actuality the ankle was holding up pretty well so I decided to take the plunge and got some much needed fresh produce (this turned out to be a bad idea as it has caused the ankle to swell up again, but live and learn)

I also got inspired on my way there and decided to make an awesome dinner! One cuisine I have always loved is Mexican- and I’m not just talkin the North American-ized stuff.  True authentic mexican cuisine has always intrigued me- I love their use of spices and bold smoky flavours to create mind-blowing dishes year round.  Not to mention I have this huge love for all things terracotta and turquoise. But that’s another story.

I’ve been seeing open faced sanwiches appear on various blogs and I’ve always thought they were fun so I decided to do a spin on a classic sandwich, veggie it up, and expose it for all to see!

I give you the Veggie Fiesta-Joes, my veggie-Mexican take on the iconic and slightly disgusting (IMO) Sloppy Joe!

Yeah, I thought I did good too 🙂

Here’s the recipe!

Veggie Fiesta Joes

Ingredients
1 can pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1 tsp olive oil
½ small yellow onion, diced small
1 green pepper, diced small
1-2 tbsp chopped jalapeno peppers (jarred, optional)
1 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp chili powder (more if you like it really spicy, but don’t forget you’ve got jalepeno’s in there!)
1 tsp cumin
8 oz can tomato sauce
1/4 cup tomato paste
2-4 rolls of choice
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro (optional)
1 ripened avocado, peeled, pit removed and thinly sliced (optional)

Directions
In a medium sauce pan, heat oil over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté for about 5 minutes or until softened. Add in the green peppers and garlic, sauté another 2-3 minutes.  Add spices and jalapenos; stir until well combined, about 30 seconds.  Next add in the beans, tomato sauce, and tomato paste. Reduce heat to med-low and let cook for 10-15 minutes.  Add in salt in pepper, taste and adjust heat.

While beans are simmering, prep your bread, I used this delectable multigrain bun:

Slice rolls in half butter them lightly (I used vegan margarine) and put them in the oven.  Broil until rolls turn golden. For the record, I only used half my roll, left the other half for tomorrow’s lunch.

Top each halve with beans and garnish with cilantro and slices of avocado or lime if desired.

This is enough to serve four but as I’m eating solo, some went into tomorrow’s lunch and some went straight into my freezer 🙂

I was really happy with how this turned out though caution to the spice-averse; cut back on the jalepenos and add the chile pepper to your taste, you may even just decide to omit the jalapenos and serve them on the side for those who wish to add an extra kick on their own.  Overall, this recipe is pretty versatile and you could easily substiute black beans for the pinto beans, I’d imagine chick peas would be interesting as well.

I served it up with another spinach salad, this time with grape tomatoes and cucumber with a light dressing of balsamic and olive oil.

Well thats it for me, I’m almost up for another round of icing before its time to hit the sack.

Adios Amigos 😉

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Veggie Fiesta Joes

  1. Chelsey says:

    Those Fiesta Joe’s look delicious! I’m veg too, so I love seeing new recipes to try out! This one is going in the books!

    I totally cannot judge you on the apple in the purse thing. I always have food in my purse for those emergency moments!

  2. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

