The Injured Veggie

The Injured Veggie

Yep- you read correctly! I’m currently walking-challenged at the moment with a sprained ankle.  Genius that I am, decided yesterday was a perfect day to be running around in my friend’s backyard playing a bit of soccer.  However, instead of bending it like Beckham, I happened to have bent my ankle, very awkwardly- which is why I neglected to post last night. I was in a bit of pain and in no mood to be recapping my latest escapade.

But let’s recap to see how I got there, shall we? I headed over to my friend Willy’s place to cheer on Team England vs. Germany.  90 horrible defense minutes and 1 uncounted goal later, none of us was in a great mood, so we decided to cheer ourselves up with some ice cold drinks and sun-tanning by the pool with some good ol’ summer tunes.

The water was gorgeous!

Tania, raising her glass to the sun!

Hey, Mr. DJ!

Canada's Cocktail and my lifeline: Sunscreen!

In case you were all wondering, NO I was not under the influence when I took my fall; I was driving that day so I was drinking responsibly 🙂

Anyway, following my “graceful” moment, I iced up for a bit before heading back home to whimper and whine all by my lonesome since the boy is in Germany (they celebrated quite a bit I’m told following their victory).  It’s days like these that make me wish I lived closer to my parents- definitely could’ve used some pampering!

Anyway, I dragged myself home (luckily it’s my left foot that’s bummed out, otherwise driving would’ve been a bit impossible) popped some advil and it was ice ice baby for the next 20 minutes before I took a small power nap.

When I woke up I hobbled downstairs to make myself some dinner- nothing fancy just salad # 2 with lettuce, tomato, avocado, kalamata olives and more vegan Caesar dressing from Saturday.  I had this with a small piece of toast with some vegan “butter”, a huge glass of water, and several episodes of Gilmore Girls to soothe my soul.

By 8:30, it was time for grandma here to get some sleep!

This morning dawned early and awkward- it’s been a while since I’ve had a sprained ankle and I clearly forgot how hard it is to do things such as um shower? Fun times!

I wasn’t very hungry this morning but figured I should probably eat something to keep up my strength and had some wholegrain toast with vegan “butter” and raspberry jam.  Meh did not feel it was worth the pic.

I honestly don’t know how creative my cooking is going to be for the next week or so, it’s not fun/easy to be on my feet for long periods of time.

Anyway, time to get on with my day but I figured I’d check in with you guys so you didn’t think I had dropped off the face of the earth.  Tonight promises to be an evening of Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation. I’m determined to get back on my feet as soon as possible so I can get back to training- but not too soon as to screw it up even further.  If any of you have some tips for my ankle, feel free to share 🙂

Happy Monday!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

