Love is in the air…

Reason #793 that it’s summer:

Wedding Invitations!

It’s that time of year again! Well actually these two lovely ladies are the first of my friends to be getting married, and I received their invitations on the same day!

Congrats Tanya and Erin! Can’t wait to celebrate with you and your future husbands! 🙂

Aside from wedding bells, the rest of my day has been alright.  I cut out of work a bit earlier than normal as my ankle started to throb so I headed home for some ice ice baby!

Following my icing stint I hemmed and hawed over what to make msyelf for dinner.  Forget the fact that it’s about 30 degrees with the humidity, tonight I was craving one of my ultimate comfort foods: mac n cheese.  However, I came across a few different vegan recipes for this delectable dish and figured I try one of them out.  I opted for Angela’s recipe, but decided to halve it cuz I definitely did not need 8 servings! I also left out the tahini as my kitchen is not currently running any and added a bit more lemon juice and garlic.  I think next time though,  I’ll want to add the tahnini or maybe some  hummus as it definitely felt like it was missing a li’l somethin somethin but for sure I’ll make it again.

topped with some vegan parmesan cheeze 😉

I’m really diggin the fact that there are so many interesting dairy-free alternatives out there. I’m not sure I’ll convert 100% but it’s fun experimenting and learning new techniques! I served it up with a pretty summery spinach salad with tomato, bell pepper and fresh blueberries with a lemon vinaigrette.

Oh and a glass of my red wine from the weekend, can’t let it go to waste 😉

For dessert I figured I’d spoil myself with a bit of melted dark chocolate onto toast with honey, random but oh so good!

I’ve just finished another stint of icing and now I think I’m gonna go read in bed so I’m not tempted to do anything crazy such as Yoga.  It’s only been 2 days and I’m already chomping at the bit to exercise 😦 Oh well, whatcha gonna do?

On a side note- a very intense rain storm just poured in! I love when it rains at night (and I don’t have to be anywhere) I find it so peaceful.  Maybe it will help me get a better sleep tonight 😉

Have a good night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love is in the air…

  1. Love is DEFINITELY in the air! Seems like everyone I know lately is getting married or having a baby! 😉

Leave a Reply

