Caesar Love

No, I’m not talking about the drink, though those are very good too 😉 But I’ll get to that love in a sec as the rest of the day has been pretty fantastic…

For the first time since I can remember, I actually slept in! Well the boy actually forced me to go back to bed when he woke up at 7 to help get acclimated to German time.  By the time I woke up again, it was 10:15!!! Pretty sure the last time I slept in till 10:15 I was in college.

When I woke up the second time around I decided to go on a nice run.  I hammered out a good 4 miles and felt fantastic! I followed this with some crunches and side planks and ended it off with some lovely stretching.

Since such an awesome workout was in need of a reward:

Multigrain toast with pb and banana.

If you’ve been reading this blog for the past little while you may have noticed a slight obsession with peanut butter, and you would be right 🙂 Peanut butter has got to be one of life’s great little pleasures.

Following my pleasurable food experience the boy and I got him ready to be shipped off to the land wiener schnitzel. By 4pm he was at the airport and I was a woman on m own for the next 5 days.

And what better way to celebrate my independence than with this:

Oh dear sweet California wine, how I love thee.

I then decided to be a hermit for the night and make a kick ass salad with fresh lettuce from the boy’s Mom’s garden:

Honestly is there anything better than home-grown produce? I love knowing that this came from her garden- this is the ultimate in local eating for me! If I didn’t love city living so much (and sleeping past dawn), I’d say get me a tractor and some plows and set me up for farming business!

To bring out the best in said lettuce I decided to make Angela’s vegan Caesar Salad dressing.  Let me tell you, MAKE THIS! It was amazing!! I was about 1 spoonful away from grabbing a straw and drinking it out of the bowl!

I topped my salad extraordinaire with avocado, tomato, cucumber and croutons.  Similar to how I made the garlic toasts for my dinner with Amy, just cut into cubes- worked like a charm.

I served my salad with some chopped veggies, kalamata olives and a piece garlic bread.

This meal served along with the wine, pretty much my idea of heaven.

Now, I’m just finishing my glass of wine and enjoying yet another episode of Gilmore Girls before I break into the last of my blueberries before heading to bed like the senior citizen I am.

Have a good night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caesar Love

  1. traynharder23 says:

    Peanut butter has got to be one of life’s great little pleasures.- best statement EVER! Love it. i love crunchy!

  2. Pingback: The Girl Eats Weeds And Likes It: Take 2 — Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

