The Tired Veggie!

So… Yeah the blog post didn’t happen last night.  Once again Amy and I were up gabbing away until about 11:30pm and we both sort of realized that um, we have to work tomorrow? This realization was followed by my haphazardly cleaning the kitchen and rather unceremoniously dumping myself into bed- my alarm clock was not my best friend this morning.

But before we get into this morning’s struggles, let’s talk yesterday’s adventures.

I left off yesterday with heading out to meet some friends at the pub and enjoy some World Cup action of Italy vs Slovakia.  If you’re Italian or a fan of team Italia, well I’m sorry but you can’t count me among you- I was quite pleased with Slovakia’s triumph over the defending world Champs. As my friend put it, it was quite splendid.

Upon arrival to said splendid match, I was in desperate need of this guy:

Note the copper bar 🙂

I’ve actually never drank coffee from a clear mug before and it was quite the experience, I felt almost pretentious haha

As the morning progressed to the afternoon, a celebratory Caesar may have appeared in front of me. Along with a veggie burger and massive salad.  Sorry- no pics.

Following Slovakia’s victory I sprinted to my car through the pouring rain and did a quick clean up of the house before Amy came over for dinner.

Since we were both so full from lunch we really didn’t break into the appetizers until about 5-6ish.

I decided to keep thing simple and bought some mixed olives:

Hummus:

And some fresh Ciabatta bread that I used to make Garlic toasts.

Simply cut the bread into strips, cut one garlic clove in half and rub it over the bread slices.  Lightly drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle on herbs is desired- I used some basil.

Pop them into the broiler and broil until golden and lightly crispy/chewy. So good!

We enjoyed our appetizers with some Bacardi Breezers- I haven’t had one of these in years! It was light, refreshing and slightly fizzy.  Perfect for summer!

Moving along we popped open a bottle of white while I got to cookin:

Peanut Soba Noodles with Sauteed veggies:

I was inspired by this recipe from a post by the lovely Gena and her Sesame Noodles.

Instead of Tahini (I didn’t have any and wasn’t in the mood to shop, and stores were closed) I decided to stick with peanut butter.  I also added in some lime juice to it.

For the veggies I simply sautéed fresh zucchini, mushrooms, shredded carrot and a red bell pepper with some olive oil until tender crisp.

Set aside and made the sauce:

¼ c. Peanut Butter

1 ½ tbsp Tamari

1 tbsp Sesame oil

¾ tsp Ginger

Juice of half a lime

¼ c. water

I mixed the sauce into cooked soba noodles and topped it with the veggies. Uber delicious.  Next time, I think I’ll cut the ginger back to a ½ tsp and maybe add some red pepper flakes for added kick.

We took our wine and plates to my prettily set table:

I LOVE these wine glasses- my Mom and I picked them out a HomeSense a few years ago and my Dad absolutely hated them so I inherited them 🙂

As I mentioned earlier, following dinner, girl talk ensued until well past our bedtimes and resulted in me rushing to my kitchen this morning clamoring for this guy:

Oh dear sweet Banana BlueBell, you are a lovely, lovely sight!

The mix:

1 Frozen ‘nanner

1 c. Almond Milk

1 Huge handful of spinach

1/3 c. Blueberries

1 tbsp Chia Seeds

This was light, refreshing and hit the spot!

Well, time to get back to work and finish my day. The boy comes home tonight from the cottage and then leaves tomorrow afternoon for Germany for until Thursday (boo), so I’m hoping to do something special tonight for dinner! 🙂

Have a great Friday!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

