Nikonographic

Hello!!!

Today was such an exciting day for me!  I am literally over the moon right now.  I’ll get to the “why” in a sec, but let’s get to the food and exercise as there was plenty of both today!

As I mentioned yesterday, I ran out of cherries and decided to take a GM break today, and opted for simple cereal with banana and almond milk.  Sorry, my camera batteries died today and totally forgot to pick up replacements.

But this is the cereal I had:

source

Wasn’t bad, but I think I’ll try somethin’ a bit different tomorrow morning.

Instead of my usual lunch at my desk (work-a-holic, remember?), I got to do this during the lunch hour:

source

Our office was offering a free trial yoga class at noon so I figured I’d join the fun.  One of the huge benefits to my workplace is they truly value physical activity and health and have provided us with a full gym free of charge (can we say: score?!) To really amp it up and get people inspired, they’ve had a few different fitness professionals to come in to give trial classes.  The yoga was the 3rd and final trial. Now we get to decide which one we want to have in place full time.  Our other 2 options are “boot-camp” style classes.  I’m honestly hoping it’ll be Yoga as I already do enough cardio and weight training that I don’t really “need” a boot-camp class to round out my workouts. But I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

All in all, I discovered that I really should make more of an effort to step away from the desk during my lunch. The break was such a great change of pace and allowed me to come back with a much clearer head and way more energy. Although, pushing lunchtime back an hour also meant I was STARVING when I got back to my desk! I literally scarfed down lunch which was leftovers of this guy:

Honestly, this tasted even better the second time around, I had to restrain myself from licking the bowl (my office area isn’t exactly ‘private’ haha).

I also had a nice white peach again; I’m very intrigued by their almost floral taste, it kind of throws you off for a sec but then you start to enjoy it.

For a snack I had a banana and the last of the vegan coconut lemon muffins.

After work I decided to hit the gym (never made it this morning as I had an awful sleep last night).

I did an intense 25 min interval work out:

5 min warm up

3 minutes at 7.8 mph

2 minutes at 5.3mph

Repeat 4 times

Following this I just did some crunches and stretching.

When I got home my tummy was growling for dinner, and it was craving one thing and one thing only: PIZZA!! But, seeing as I’ve been doing so well in the non-dairy department latley, I decided to take a page once again out of Angela’s book with her Vegan “Cheeze” which was a mixture of hummus, nutritional yeast, water, and tumeric. I also added some garlic powder for a little added kick (I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and will post a pic then).

Honestly, I wasn’t sure how I was going to like this but I ended up LOVING it- one of the best pizza’s of my life. In addition the the “cheeze” I had a pizza sauce, thinly slice roma tomatoes, fresh basil, bell pepper, and mushrooms.  Again, was very close to plate-licking territory.

After dinner, the boy and I decided to go and run a few errands.  We ended up going to Costco, aka the most dangerous place on earth where I had to physically restrain myself from buying everything in sight.  I did however buy these:

source

Can I admit here and now that I’ve never actually HAD a Larabar before? I’m a total Larabar virgin! So I was super excited to pick up their 12-bar variety pack! Now to decide whcih flavour to have first. I have a choice between apple, key lime or peanut butter, submit your votes now! lol

After Costco we had one more stop to make and the most exciting stop to date.   Ladies and Gentleman, today, I bought my very first DSLR!!!! You have absolutely no idea how excited I am about this purchase! I have been saving up for a few months now and I have been dreaming about this day for about 4 years now ever since I took photography classes in uni.

The model I bought was the Nikon D90.

source

I couldn’t be happier with my purchase and can’t wait to have the batteries fully charged to show you guys some awesome food pics!

Well, that’s it for me tonight. I’m off to dream sweet dreams of my beautiful new camera!

Bonsoir!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

