Summer Lentil Salad

Happy First Day of Summer!

It took a while for it to get started but it looks like summer has finally found its feet here in MTL!

Check out the huge distraction I had all day long:

Not bad, eh? (Just so you know, I’m referring to the weather, not the cars parked right outside 😉 )

Today was a pretty decent day for a Monday, and I kicked it off right with another one of these guys:

My ultra-fabulous Banana-Cherry Slammer Smoothie 🙂

Mix:

I frozen banana

1 c. plain Almond milk

Massive handful of spinach

1/4 pitted cherry halves

1 tbsp chia seeds

I was debating on whether or not I should add a bit of vanilla since I normally use Vanilla Almond Milk but I’m glad I didn’t- this tasted even more refreshing than normal! Sadly, I’m all out of cherries so there won’t be a repeat tomorrow.

Lunch was pretty simple consisting of:

White Peach (was my first time having one of these guys, they are pretty tasty!)

PC Masala Hummus ❤ and veggies

Roasted Portobello Mushroom with Avocado and Tofu left over from last night:

Maybe a few pieces of dark chocolate were snuck in as well 😉

I meant to go for a workout today, but in all honesty, I wasn’t feeling it.  I’m actually feeling a bit “off” right now and figured I’d take it easy tonight and get in a good workout tomorrow morning.

Instead I chose to make a light summery meal in honour of the first day of l’été!

Summer Lentil Salad with Tangy Dijon Dressing and Sweet Potatoe “Fries”

For the Lentil Salad I used:

– 1 can of yellow/brown lentils, thoroughly rinsed and drained (you can use dried and cook according to package directions but I just wasn’t in the mood and took the lazy way out)

– 1/2 c. cucumber, diced

– 1/3 c. diced red onion

1/2 yellow bell pepper, seeded and diced

1 tomatoe, diced

Fresh basil, torn (use to taste)

salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients and set aside

“Tangy Dijon Dressing”

3 Tbsp Olive Oil

2 Tbsp Cider Vinegar

2 Tbsp Dijon Mustard

Whisk ingredients in small bowl, pour over lentil salad.

Place salad in fridge and commence with the “Fries”

Sweet Potatoe Fries

Preheat oven to 400 F

Cut potatoes into long thin strips, place on cookie sheet, spray lightly with oil and add seasoning of choice. I used Clubhouse’s Indian Masala, which overall is pretty good with a nice depth of flavour.
Place in middle rack of oven and bake for 20-25 minutes unitl nicely browned.

I served up the salad over a bed of baby spinach and had my “fries” with some bbq sauce for dipping.

Well that’s it for me, I’m going to relax a bit before it’s time for bed.  See you tomorrow!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Lentil Salad

  1. Wow. I suddenly just got *so* homesick with that first pic… as a displaced Montrealer, there’s just something about it that really says summertime at home to me! Is it the trees? The mirror-front building? The colour of the sky? Hm… lovely!

  2. Pingback: Simply Stocked= Healthy Eating « The MTL Veggie

Leave a Reply

