Tea Time!

Good evening blog world!

How was everyone’s Thursday? Mine was pretty darn good if I do say so myself.

Productive day at work, sun shining brightly to keep me motivated to finish my work quicker than normal all finished off with good food, good friends and good tea 🙂 All in all, good times.

Now that I’ve exhausted all uses for the word “good” I’ll get into all the “good” details. Ok, I’ll stop. Good. heh heh

ANYWAY breakfast this morning was pretty lame as I did not go shopping last night and so was out of spinach AND bananas.  I know, it was NOT good 😉 So I settled for some toast with pb and some cherries on the side.  On my way to work I picked up some batteries for my camera and a Tropicana orange juice. Random, but good.

In case you were wondering, I didn’t bring in a sunshine burger for lunch.  In fact I didn’t bring a lunch at all! Why, do you ask? Well, we received an email yesterday announcing that tomorrow (today) a new catering service called Le Luncheonette was launching a new “box lunch” service and they wanted to do a test run.  Le Luncheonette prides itself on using fresh, local ingredients to provide you with healthy and satisfying boxed lunches.  They told us they provided vegetarian options, which as we all know, does not necessarily mean “vegan”.  So, I emailed them asking if their veggie options were “vegan friendly” and they kindly wrote back saying they would be more than happy to provide me a vegan meal, so I figured I may as well try it out.

The whole schtick with Le Luncheonette is they show up for  10 minute window somewhere between 11 and 12 where you have the option to buy a boxed lunch for $10 that provides you with a “gourmet sandwich, 3 salads and dessert”.

When I picked up my lunch (I had to forgo the dessert because it had butter, no biggy I’m not a huge desserts person anyway), I was presented with this:

The three salads: Roasted beet, tomato and cucumber, carrot. 
Surprisingly, my favorite was the carrot.  Usually I am not a huge fan of carrot salads as I find they are too creamy and rich and taste more like a bbq style coleslaw than anything else.  This carrot salad was light and refreshing with hints of parsley and citrus- I am definitely going to try this out at home!

My sandwich was pretty good also: it was a naan-like wrap filled with guacamole, roasted peppers, red cabbage and a light tahini sauce.

Like I mentioned no dessert, but I enjoyed my OJ along with it.

Overall, I like their concept of bringing to you fresh wholesome foods with locally sourced ingredients during your busy workday. However these recipes were very simple, nothing special, and I’m not sure that it justifies the $10 cost.  I don’t think I’ll be using this service on a regular basis, but if ever I’m stuck like I was yesterday, it’ll be a good option to fall back on.

After-work I had a “tea date” with two of my close friends downtown so I rushed home to scarf down a quick dinner:

Sunshine burger with dijon mustard for dipping:

Romaine lettuce salad with cucumber, pepper, and carrots with a lemon vinaigrette.

Simple and filling and hit the spot nicely.  The sunshine burgers are as good cold as they are hot, just as an FYI 🙂

After dinner I hopped in the car and met up with the girls for some serious girl talk and fun organic tea at Caffe Art Java in the Plateau.  I had their ginger peach tea- very aromatic and nice and light highly recommended.

I just had a quick call with the boy who is on his way home on he red-eye flight from BC so I’ll be picking him up in the morning- can’t wait to see him!

Now that I’m all talked out and blogged out, time to get a “good” night’s sleep 🙂

Bonne Nuit!

-Jess

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

