Fading Fast…

Hey Guys,

This is gonna be a quick one tonight one because my camera batteries died today and I so have no food pics for you and also because I am soooooo tired! I feel as if I’ve been up for 24 hours, so before my head falls onto my keyboard, let’s get started.

Breakfast today was honestly AMAZING!!! Best smoothie I’ve made to date. No word of a lie, it’s making the MTL Veggie history book!

I’m calling this the Banana Cherry Slammer 😉 (I remember discussing “Alabamma Slammers” with Amy last night, so just go with it, people!)

The mix:

1 frozen banana

1 c. vanilla soy milk

1/3 c. chopped fresh cherries

1 massive handful of spinach

1 tbsp chia seeds

OMG This will change your life. I’m pretty sure cherries and banana’s were meant to be together, it’s a beautiful marriage I promise you.

The smoothie was a bit thick but that just made all the more better, I probably could’ve eaten it with a spoon 🙂

Since I got home late last night after dinner with Amy, I was really in no mood to make a lunch so I just decided to buy one today.
I headed on over to Chop Crazy and bought myself a huge-ass Spinach salad with beets, chickpeas, green peppers, portobello mushrooms, walnuts and red wine vinaigrette- definitely a repeat here as well! In case ya hadn’t all noticed, I have a very deep love affair going on with salads, I think they rock and can never get enough of them!  The salad tided me over till later in the afternoon and I busted out a Cherry Pretzel Pro Bar, mm mm mmmm.

After work I did a good 1 hr work out.

I started off with intervals on the treadmill; after a 5 minute warm up I alternated with 7.8mph for 3 minutes and 5.2mph for 2 minutes and did this about 4 times.  I then moved onto weights and a lower body work-out:

Lunges: 15 reps with 15lbs weights

Hip Lifts on Stability ball (lie flat  on your back, put your heels on the stability with your knees bent, left your hips all the way up, repeat 15 times)

Inner thigh lifts: 15 reps

Squats with arms extended: 15 reps, 3 lbs weights in each hand

Crunches

stretching

Definitely a great work out! I think I freaked out the one other guy in the gym a little bit due to the amount of sweat I was working up. I am NOT an attractive girl when working out haha

When I was leaving to head home, it had started to rain, heavily, very heavily; we’re talkin lakes forming in the roads- fun times! I needed to pick up a few things from the store but decided to forgo it- the only reason I was getting out the car was to get into my house and my pj’s!

Once I was all comfy I did my all-time favourite rainy-day activity: cook!

For some reason, I take great comfort spending time in the kitchen, cooking up a storm all the while it’s storming outside.  So I decided, rather than a quick dinner, I’d take my time preparing something really good!

I decided on Gena’s fabulous cooked sunshine burgers. If you’ve yet to try this recipe out, I highly recommend you do so, now!

The recipe is super easy and I luckily had all the ingredients on hand.  I pretty much followed the it to a “T” but didn’t have the herb seasoning she used so I threw in oregano, garlic, salt and pepper; some thyme probably would’ve been good too, but I was all out.

I topped mine very simply with a bit of salsa and served it up, bunless, with some veggies.  I wasn’t in the mood for a super heavy meal. This hit the spot just perfectly and I am now sated and ready for sleep.

Are you still awake out there? Sorry for the lackluster post, but I’m having a super hard time keeping my eyes open and it’s um, 8:30. Time for Grandma to go to bed.

G’night!

About Jess @ MTL Veggie

Jess, the face behind The MTL Veggie is a vegetarian, athlete, marketer and Torontonian turned Montrealer. In her spare time she enjoys cooking, photography, running, yoga, skiing, and of course blogging. The MTL Veggie recaps her recipes, restaurant reviews, and what it's like to be a Leafs fan living in Montreal (hint: scary at times).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

